ROMED8-2T LAN Ports Not Working

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

area51

Nov 26, 2023
Hi all. I'm completely new to server builds and just built my first PC. It's based on the ROMED8-2T with an Epyc 7302P. 128 GB RAM (32x4). I have a 2TB SSD. 2x1TB M2 SSDs. 12TBx6 HDDs that will ultimately be in a raidz2 config. Noctua cooler. Corsair 750 power supply. Housing is Fractal Design Define 7.

The good news is that the CPU posted correctly the first time. All the drives and memory show up fine. I am able to connect to the admin web over the home LAN using the IPMI port. I was able to install Proxmox. However, I am unable to reach Proxmox web GUI over IPMI.

More importantly, I tried to instead use the the 2 10Gb LAN ports to connect and I'm not getting any DHCP assigned IPs. Also, when I plug in my ethernet cable into either of the 10Gb LAN ports, I don't see any status lights at all. On the other hand, plugging into the IPMI LAN port gives me status lights on the IPMI jack.

I have no idea what I'm doing wrong here. Am I even able to use those 10Gb ports within Proxmox? Is there a BIOS setting that I'm missing? Defective MB?

In summary: 1) how come I get a DHCP address via the IPMI and can reach the management web gui but can't reach the Proxmox gui and 2) how come I get no status lights or IP address when plugging into either of the 10Gb LAN ports?

altmind

Sep 23, 2018
X550-AT2 is very reliable and should be supported by any linux distro. have you tried restoring your bios settings to factory?

also, do you see the nics in ifconfig/ethtool?

slidermike

May 7, 2023
Area, a couple of things and in no specific order.
#1 "no lights" means disabled port: bad cable or not seeing a link from the other end aka the switch. check mobo bios for the nic's settings. Make sure they are enabled and you will likely want them set to dhcp.