HP T730 8GB RAM 32GB Storage Thin Client

Discussion in 'Great Deals' started by MiniKnight, Aug 2, 2018.

  1. arglebargle

    arglebargle H̸̖̅ȩ̸̐l̷̦͋l̴̰̈ỏ̶̱ ̸̢͋W̵͖̌ò̴͚r̴͇̀l̵̼͗d̷͕̈

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    209
    #141
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2019
  2. arglebargle

    arglebargle H̸̖̅ȩ̸̐l̷̦͋l̴̰̈ỏ̶̱ ̸̢͋W̵͖̌ò̴͚r̴͇̀l̵̼͗d̷͕̈

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    209
    #142
  3. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    190
    An M.2 SSD is at least 20 bucks, and the power adapter is ~15 USD (you'll need at least a 65w HP Elite laptop PSU to power it) - you'll still need a stand if you want to mount it without overheating. A good idea if you support a large HP shop and have the parts laying around...otherwise...nah.
     
    #143
  4. fossxplorer

    fossxplorer Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    45
    Probably gonna go even lower in the near future as these are being sold for IMO ridiculous prices.
    Things are moving in the embedded market and Ryzen and EPYC APUs will hopefully more of in the market during 2019.
    E.g ASRock MiniDesk 300 looks very interesting for ~$400 for a "full" system, more future proof with 2xM.2 and SATA. Double performance as well.
    I wouldn't consider these anymore really.
     
    #144
  5. arglebargle

    arglebargle H̸̖̅ȩ̸̐l̷̦͋l̴̰̈ỏ̶̱ ̸̢͋W̵͖̌ò̴͚r̴͇̀l̵̼͗d̷͕̈

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    209
    Eh.

    That ASRock suffers from the same problem every other USFF machine has, sure you can attach NVMe storage to it but you don't have any network bandwith with which to exploit it

    To attach 10GbE to that ASRock you're going to either need to buy a PCIe -> USB3 enclosure (ugh. just. ugh.) or you're going to need a riser cable to get PCIe 4x out of the case and into the aforementioned enclosure. Wake me up when the new Ryzen APU thin clients with a standard PCIe slot drop.
     
    #145
    SwanRonson likes this.
  6. fossxplorer

    fossxplorer Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    45
    #146
  7. SwanRonson

    SwanRonson Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    without PCI-E those are fairly bad deals no matter the purpose.

    no PCI-E = no >gigabit networking capability, which makes for a bad VM host (as I understand it)

    no PCI-E also means you are limited to whatever Ryzen APUs come on down the line. I'd much rather invest in something slightly bigger with the capability of running a dedicated GPU down the line as budget allows, rather than pigeonhole myself into whatever marginal improvement Zen 2 offers.

    If you wanna play games on the cheap, buy a Nintendo Switch.
     
    #147
  8. arglebargle

    arglebargle H̸̖̅ȩ̸̐l̷̦͋l̴̰̈ỏ̶̱ ̸̢͋W̵͖̌ò̴͚r̴͇̀l̵̼͗d̷͕̈

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    209
    #148
  9. nthu9280

    nthu9280 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    358
    It saw this listing too. It being an auction and the seller has 0 feedback so I ignored it. The usual listings are still around $180. Have not been actively looking for these either. Hopefully qty of these hit the market soon and drive the prices down. At the moment, I think DFI units ~$100 makes a better value compared to these.
     
    #149
  10. Samir

    Samir Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    158
  11. e97

    e97 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    77
    For future reference:

    ebay:
    2019-05-06 ~ $159 = $139 + $20 s/h

    retail:
    2019-05-06 ~ $266 + ? shipping
     
    #151
    arglebargle likes this.
  12. Geran

    Geran Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    34
    Anyone on a gigabit line running pfsense and IPS/IDS? If so, what speeds are you getting?

    Trying to decide between getting this for a pfsense router or getting a USG Pro and building a Security Onion box to handle all the ips/ids.
     
    #152
  13. mb300sd

    mb300sd Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    67
    Anyone know of the M2 slot is PCIe 2.0 or 3.0? PCIe 3.0 x2 should drive 10GbE with an adapter and external enclosure.
     
    #153
  14. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    190
    It's PCIe 2.0 x1 - even if it is 3.0 I wouldn't go there.

    Most performant 10GbE cards (i.e. SolarFlare/Mellanox/Intel i540-T1) tends to be power-hungry - a Solarflare 5-series card has a draw of about 6 watts idle. I would not push past 4-5 watts on an M.2 Key-E slot. They were only meant for gigabit applications (802.11ac or ad). When you have to Frankenstein up solutions up like that, it's time to get a different box.
     
    #154
    Stephan likes this.
  15. cromo

    cromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just bought a brand new unit that unfortunately does not have WiFi antennas. Does anyone have any idea how to retrofit it? Can't find any information about it anywhere.
     
    #155
    Samir likes this.
  16. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    190
    Take a look at the t730 end-of-life disassembly instructions, page 19 - it should give you an idea what to look for/what to do. Not every t730 have integrated antennas for the optional Wifi cards (although the disassembly guide might have let you to believe that it does)
     
    #156
  17. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    190
    Wake up! The t740 is here in 2 weeks!
     
    #157
  18. cromo

    cromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thank you for that. Installing them is definitely not worth the effort of disassembling pretty much everything. Hard to believe HP would save cost on wires like that.
     
    #158
  19. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    190
    Well, it's not really that hard - there should be a hook on either side of the client (really the top and bottom edge) - all you need to do is sticky-pad one end, hang it on the hook on the other end and then run the Hirose UF.L connectors back to the WiFi card. When I migrate to the t740 (should arrive Mid-October) I plan to reuse the t730 as a home arcade machine - I'll demonstrate how to cleanly retrofit the antennas back into the chassis.
     
    #159
    Samir likes this.
  20. cromo

    cromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Any idea where to get them? I searched on eBay but all I see is RP-SMA extension cables.
    I also wonder if I could simply drill two holes for RP-SMA connectors in that small backplate piece that covers the fiber output. It's pretty tight there but they should fit.

    Do you know the t740 pricing yet? Are you gonna get it straight from HP?
     
    #160
Similar Threads: T730 32GB
Forum Title Date
Great Deals HP T730 8GB and 32GB SSD $195 OBO Jan 5, 2019
Great Deals Ebay - HP T730 Thin Client - $173 shipped Aug 27, 2019
Great Deals 2 * HP T730 (130 or 170€) May 17, 2019
Great Deals (Update 04-25) DFI DT122 (AMD RX-427BB) Industrial ITX T730-a-like; $99 shipped w/ 8GB Sep 28, 2018
Great Deals Cheap Gigabit fiber adapter for the HP t730 Thin Client Aug 19, 2018

Share This Page