HP T730 8GB RAM 32GB Storage Thin Client

Discussion in 'Great Deals' started by MiniKnight, Aug 2, 2018.

  1. mimino

    mimino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    The DFI accepts DDR3/DDR3L, not sure about T730. I've got two 8G sticks of DDR3L so that should work.
    As to the fans, is it the CPU or PSU fan that is noisy? I see that some DFI boards have DC-in jack, that would be ideal.
     
    #121
  2. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    157
    Quick look at the manual, the DFI uses 204 Pin RAM, so it's the laptop RAM just like the t730, and not 240 Pin desktop RAM.
    As for types, the t730 can only take DDR3L (so it has to say 1.35v) instead of DDR3 (1.5v). The DT122E should be able to work with anything from 1.25 to 1.5v. 16GB RAM modules should work in both cases (I have 32GB in my t730)
     
    #122
  3. mimino

    mimino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm not concerned about the RAM but the noise and what can be done about it. Curious which fan is the noisiest, PSU or CPU.
     
    #123
  4. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    157
    There's a separate thread covering the DT122BE.
    AFAIK the t730 has a metal enclosure around the DD3L RAM modules both as an EM shield and possibly as a passive heatsink, a single fan and has a large, passively cooled power brick. If it's peace and quiet, the t730 is the way to go. I would only pick the DT122E if you are really, really price sensitive or need a full height PCIe x16 slot.
     
    #124
  5. mimino

    mimino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks. I picked up this board instead: DFI ITOX BE171-77EN-427B 770-BE1711-100G Mini-ITX Motherboard | AMD RX-427BB | eBay
    BO $99 got accepted which I think is a good deal. Will put it in the Silverstone case I have laying around, and if it's still too loud then will think about the alternative cooling.
     
    #125
  6. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    157
    It's a good deal when it's $125 or BO for a chassis + board, but if it's just a board, not so much. You can probably get an AM4 A320 chipset board and an Athlon 200GE APUs bundled for around that much, and it'll be better bang for the buck.
     
    #126
    SwanRonson likes this.
  7. SwanRonson

    SwanRonson Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm actually considering one of these + an external HDD as a little Plex server. Passmark score is quite good so it should handle burning subtitles just fine.
     
    #127
  8. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    157
    The t730 or the Athlon 200GE?
     
    #128
  9. arglebargle

    arglebargle H̸̖̅ȩ̸̐l̷̦͋l̴̰̈ỏ̶̱ ̸̢͋W̵͖̌ò̴͚r̴͇̀l̵̼͗d̷͕̈

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    203
    I've been meaning to test Plex transcoding on my t730 as well. If anyone gets to it before I have time (I've been doing some major ripping and tearing on the household wiring and building a wall mounted rack-mount cabinet) could you let me know if HW transcoding of HEVC works?
     
    #129
  10. SwanRonson

    SwanRonson Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3

    it won't, HEVC / h.265 is UVD 6 and up

    Unified Video Decoder - Wikipedia

    t730 but there's gotta be better options that support a 3.5" internal drive I just haven't had time to look.
     
    #130
  11. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    157
    Well, if you want it quiet (the DTI BE122 doesn't qualify) and cheap (which the DTI does and the t730... not really), that's probably a custom Athlon 200GE build, or maybe get yourself something that at least Intel Skylake and above (as no Intel CPUs older than that will have Quicksync HEVC hardware encoding support either). As for popping in a GT1030 (common choice for more video playback firepower on thin clients), just remember that the GT series can playback HEVC, but not encode it.
     
    #131
    SwanRonson likes this.
  12. fake-name

    fake-name Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    83
    People who got PCIe passthrough to a VM working on this thing, what virtualization platform were you using?

    I've spent a few evenings trying to get xen PCI passthrough to work without luck.

    ------

    EDIT: Got it to work with Proxmox/KVM. Anyone get xen to play nice with these?
     
    #132
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2019
  13. arglebargle

    arglebargle H̸̖̅ȩ̸̐l̷̦͋l̴̰̈ỏ̶̱ ̸̢͋W̵͖̌ò̴͚r̴͇̀l̵̼͗d̷͕̈

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    203
    I used hardware passthrough with Proxmox/Qemu without issue on a bunch of 10/40GbE NICs when I was playing around with mine.

    I did get SR-IOV passthrough working with Mellanox cards but I had issues reclaiming the VF after shutting down the guest so it was one-shot per VF per boot -- and without proper SR-IOV support (I can't recall the feature name at the moment but it's server chipset only) you're limited to a total of 8 VF addresses per device. It was pretty cool handing out 10GbE VF devices to 6-7 different VMs and having wire-speed networking on each without any additional overhead but without any way to reclaim the VFs short of rebooting it didn't work out to be practical.
     
    #133
  14. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    157
    Any idea if this is due to no support for ACSCtl, or is this something that is inherent to dealing with SRIOV VFs in FreeBSD guests? The next round of thin clients should be Ryzen based, and they should have full PCIe ACS support pre-baked.
     
    #134
  15. arglebargle

    arglebargle H̸̖̅ȩ̸̐l̷̦͋l̴̰̈ỏ̶̱ ̸̢͋W̵͖̌ò̴͚r̴͇̀l̵̼͗d̷͕̈

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    203
    It's not just FreeBSD, that much I know. I had exactly the same issue with Linux guests.

    My guess is that it's due to either lacking ACSCtl or a bug in the Linux host driver, I strongly suspect no one tested the corner case of VF passthrough without ACSCtl when they wrote the driver. When I have a bit more time I'll plug in one of my new HP servers and try again (this time with ACSCtl) and see if it works, that at least rules the driver out. I have no experience with vmware or I'd give that a shot on the thin client too.

    Edit: Somewhat oddball question but do you have any ideas for shoe-horning more storage into these? The only things I can think of are SATA multipliers (Bad Idea™,) using USB3 ports (not performant) or splitting the PCIe slot with a bifurcated riser and PCIe extension cables (Oof.) If I could jam one more SSD inside each, plus the NIC, I could get a pretty solid Gluster SSD cluster going here.
     
    #135
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2019
  16. fossxplorer

    fossxplorer Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    36
    To my surprise, i found out that booting from the internal USB3 Type A isn't working.:eek:
    I installed Proxmox using usb-to-msta adapter and installed PVE fine, but rebooting showed UEFI nor BIOS can see anything on that USB port.
    Anyone else tried to boot from the nternal USB3 Type A of T730?
     
    #136
  17. fake-name

    fake-name Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    83
    It booted fine for me using the external USB devices. Are you sure you don't have the internal port turned off in the BIOS?

    As I remember it, you can specifically deactivate ports in the BIOS. Perhaps the internal port is disabled or shows up as a separate device in the boot order.
     
    #137
  18. rivet

    rivet New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just tested it, and it doesn't work for me either. The internal USB is getting power, but I never saw the LED flicker on the flash drive. External USB ports work fine. I didn't see anything in the BIOS that looked relevant, either.
     
    #138
    fossxplorer likes this.
  19. fossxplorer

    fossxplorer Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    36
    Thx for testing & confirming!There is an option in the BIOS to disable USB ports, including the internal one.
    My plan to run PVE from a USB-MSATA and to use m.2 for storage didnt work out now, so running PVE off an M.2 SATA for now.
    I got an idea to get a 2.5" SATA inside, let's see in a while when i get some time to experiment.

    NB: the internal USB works just fine once the OS is booted!







     
    #139
  20. arglebargle

    arglebargle H̸̖̅ȩ̸̐l̷̦͋l̴̰̈ỏ̶̱ ̸̢͋W̵͖̌ò̴͚r̴͇̀l̵̼͗d̷͕̈

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    203
    You can definitely jam a 2.5" SATA drive inside with an m.2 SATA to normal SATA breakout board. I have a couple on my desk right now that I'm going to use to drop SATA Samsung 850 Pros into my T730s. I've been looking for a cheap version of something like this (either a PCIe 1x riser or a minipcie) so I can hijack the unused m.2 A+E key slot to add a SATA adapter and turn these into compact gluster SSD nodes.
     
    #140
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2019
Similar Threads: T730 32GB
Forum Title Date
Great Deals HP T730 8GB and 32GB SSD $195 OBO Jan 5, 2019
Great Deals 2 * HP T730 (130 or 170€) May 17, 2019
Great Deals (Update 04-25) DFI DT122 (AMD RX-427BB) Industrial ITX T730-a-like; $99 shipped w/ 8GB Sep 28, 2018
Great Deals Cheap Gigabit fiber adapter for the HP t730 Thin Client Aug 19, 2018
Great Deals 32GB SATA DOMs - ~$8 each (lot of 8) May 25, 2019

Share This Page