HP T730 8GB RAM 32GB Storage Thin Client

Discussion in 'Great Deals' started by MiniKnight, Aug 2, 2018.

  1. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    190
    Something like this - and unless you absolutely need the benefit of external antenna(s), I wouldn't bother.
    Lowest pricing starts at around 620 USD or so (my channel partner tosses me a bone), but I want to take a look at some of the SKUs and maybe get a loaner unit first before I pull the trigger. I want a t740, but I also want to spend my money wisely.
     
    #161
  2. cromo

    cromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks, got one of those.
     
    #162
  3. cromo

    cromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    FYI, the M.2 cards use MHF-4 connectors, not UF.L, so the antenna set you recommended is actually incompatible with the M.2 Intel 8260ngw that I have. So you need something like this instead.
     
    #163
  4. Fireworm

    Fireworm New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    4
  5. cromo

    cromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am having trouble enabling the VFs on I350-t4 I have installed. The passthrough actually works fine, but I am getting "Cannot allocate memory" when trying to set the VFs to non-zero value. Also seeing
    Code:
    can't enable 4 VFs (bus 02 out of range of [bus 01])
    in dmesg.

    Any idea what's wrong here?

    The cmd line is:
    Code:
    BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-5.0.21-2-pve root=/dev/mapper/pve-root ro quiet amd_iommu=on iommu=pt radeon.bapm
    BIOS is the most recent one, version: L43 v01.15

    EDIT:

    OK, I found in another thread that the "pci=assign-busses" needs to be added to kernel cmd line.
     
    #165
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2019
    arglebargle likes this.
  6. steky9

    steky9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was tearing my hair out using this device for pfSense with the Realtek port failing any time there was a high traffic load, before I found the post showing how to upgrade the realtek driver. It has made a very noticeable difference.

    I'm now thinking if I upgraded the BIOS from the ancient version it has installed (1.04) to the newest version available (1.15) it might improve even further. Whats the quickest method to do that though? As far as I can see the download to upgrade it from the HP website is only available as a Windows exe. So I'm thinking if I install windows to a usb thumb drive, download and run the upgrade package etc that would be the easiest method. Is there any flaw with that method that I can't think of and is there an easier alternative?
     
    #166
  7. Samir

    Samir Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    158
    I'm not sure about this particular model so ymmv, but a lot of times the windows exe is actually to make a bootable usb drive to do the update, so you can run the update in a windows vm on some machine to create the usb and then just use that to update it. :)
     
    #167
  8. steky9

    steky9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    By running the exe in a VM I can extract the BIOS firmware Blob, but on Linux systems it seems to require the application 'ami-flash' to be able to install it. A quick google search didn't throw up any description of how to install that ami-flash application on pfsense, and I'm somewhat wary of it going awry and turning the device into a brick.

    So I'm downloading an image to recover it to an embedded Windows10 version which I'll install to a USB thumb drive and do it that way. I hexed myself by saying updating the driver had made a noticeable difference, as almost immediately afterwards that interface became unstable, and I've had to revert back to older hardware running pfsense that I happily kept rather than flog.
     
    #168
  9. Samir

    Samir Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    158
    ami-flash sounds like the same old dos program that's been used for eons. Man, floppy drive bios updates back in the day seem like a breeze compared to this...
     
    #169
  10. M_server

    M_server New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just scored one of these for very cheap on my local CL, seems like a really nice little box. Only issue I'm seeing is the sound- the adapter has a pretty annoying coil whine. Does anyone else have this issue or maybe I just got a bad one?

    If so what model charger should I be looking to replace it with?
     
    #170
  11. Samir

    Samir Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    158
    What is the model number of the adapter you already have and it's voltage and ampage specs? It should be 19.5V and over 4A (85w).

    From some general searches it seems like Y3U70AA#ABA is the genuine HP part and is around $55-60:
    HP - power adapter - 85 Watt - Y3U70AA#ABA - Internal Power Supplies - CDW.com
    PROVANTAGE: HP Y3U70AA#ABA TC 85W P/S & Cable
    https://www.zones.com/site/product/index.html?id=104723317
     
    #171
  12. M_server

    M_server New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah its the 85W one, different model number though- this ebay auction matches 843233-001 / 929818-003 P/S 85W TC14 EPS 89% EFF 19.5V PIXAR | eBay.

    Just want to see from other people if they have this issue before I go and buy another and have it sound exactly the same.

    The barrel plug also looks like it may have some commonality with HP laptop chargers, so was wondering about using one of those as well.
     
    #172
  13. josh

    josh Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    40
    Just for curiosity, where do you guys use these clients? I've experimented with these in the past but they seem to have fallen out of practicality compared to NUCs' form factor and the amount of free software you cannot run when running virtualised Windows Server.
     
    #173
  14. Samir

    Samir Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    158
    That may be the problem. The 843233-001 matches the 65w model and the 929818-003 number seems to be some sort of european number. I suspect a bit of fraud where someone slaps on an 85w label on a 65w power supply (or fake) to get more money. And it would make sense if you're getting noise if the adapter is 65w and it needs 85w.

    I think you would do good if you can find a local genuine hp laptop charger as they're basically the same thing unless they're using some sort of 'smart plug' tech to make sure that the charger is being connected to a laptop. Too bad I'm not near the Deerfield, IL goodwill anymore as they had genuine adapters all day long for 99 cents. :)
     
    #174
  15. Samir

    Samir Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    158
    I don't have a t730, but I generally use my thin clients as rdp clients so that I don't have to be near all the equipment I use. :D Nothing like having pin drop silence while all the servers and computers are not even in earshot blowing away at full speed. :)
     
    #175
    Rand__ likes this.
  16. josh

    josh Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    40
    What OS do you virtualize? Every software on Windows gets jacked up to commercial pricing the moment it detects the OS as Server. Licensing issues for virtualized OS seem to be a problem with non-server OS. Not to mention CAL for RDP. Unless you guys don't pay for your licenses :eek:
     
    #176
  17. M_server

    M_server New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like a US model- looked up the serial and says it has activated less than a month ago and warranty is good through 2022. Considering going to just warranty the charger but it's unclear if HP lets it transfer.
     
    #177
  18. Samir

    Samir Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2017
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    158
    I haven't virtualized yet. :oops: I literally have 40+ computers whirring away. :eek:

    I've been looking at putting proxmox on the systems that are beefy enough for it, but don't know how it would treat an actual boot drive vs a virtual one. Would sound kinda stupid to just make a vhd of an actual drive just to use it with a hypervisor.

    As far as licensing for software, everything I'm using is either abandonware or opensource projects so no licensing per se. But my work is also pretty simple--look at pdf scans and action/file accordingly.
     
    #178
  19. fossxplorer

    fossxplorer Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    45
    OMG! Is at your work or "home lab" all these are at?

     
    #179
  20. mimino

    mimino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    7
    Don't own a T730 but a DFI version of AMD RX-427BB with 16G of RAM running pfSense, Unifi controller, xpenology (synology surveillance station) and Home Automation under proxmox with average CPU utilization at 15% and RAM at 64%. Hasn't "fallen out of practicality" for me, far from it.
     
    #180
    Samir likes this.
Similar Threads: T730 32GB
Forum Title Date
Great Deals HP T730 8GB and 32GB SSD $195 OBO Jan 5, 2019
Great Deals Ebay - HP T730 Thin Client - $173 shipped Aug 27, 2019
Great Deals 2 * HP T730 (130 or 170€) May 17, 2019
Great Deals (Update 04-25) DFI DT122 (AMD RX-427BB) Industrial ITX T730-a-like; $99 shipped w/ 8GB Sep 28, 2018
Great Deals Cheap Gigabit fiber adapter for the HP t730 Thin Client Aug 19, 2018

Share This Page