Dell Poweredge R620's - 16/20 Cores - 64/128gb RAM - $200

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

oppenheimer

Jun 27, 2023
United States

I am just really starting my HomeLab and wanted to get something that actually supports virtualization (all of the old HP DL3xx G4's that I have are too old to support virtualization) so I went exploring and I found some good deals. I bought one of these myself and wanted to share:

I opted for the one with 2 E5-2660's because that one comes with drives (not a huge deal but a factor).

Last edited by a moderator:

Cruzader

Jan 1, 2021
For that model that was the best I could find, of course I am really only looking on eBay and amazon. If you have any other sites let me know. I am still new in the world of servers and homelabbing.
"r620 128gb" "r720 128gb" "dl380 128gb" etc into ebay gives you quite alot of better cpu listings in the 100-130$ area.
They are missing the spinners from your link but you can buy that for less than the diffrence.

And thats the asking prices, you can offer 20-40$ below that and they will be happy to get it out the door.
The gen above with ddr4 is getting so cheap now that its hard to move the ddr3 stuff.

malloot

Oct 24, 2013
in my opinion anything xeon v2-4 are is not worth it anymore, power costs, low performance, no more bios updates for security patches. Better of buying a more modern system. Epyc Rome/Milan utterly beats these in performance and I3-12000f is still slightly better with way less power use

Magnet

Jan 25, 2018
North Florida