HCI Servers Build... Starwind VSAN or VMWare vSAN?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

phennexion

Feb 17, 2016
Hey Everyone,

I'm hopefully going to build a few HCI node servers, with this chassis:
Supermicro | Products | SuperServers | 2U | 6028UX-TR4

I'd like to do 3 nodes, hyperconverged with a VSAN software.

2 E5-2680v3
128gb DDR4
2 in RAID 1(Storage Spaces Mirror) Samsung 950 Pro 512gb M.2 w/ PCIe 3.0 x4 DT-120 (specs show 400TBW)
6 in RAID10 Hitachi 7K4000 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM SATA w/ 64GB Cache
6 in RAID10 Samsung 850 Pro Series 1TB 2.5" SATA Solid State
C612 chipset

I said RAID1 and 10 because Starwind lays on top of a servers RAID whereas VMWareVSAN just does JBOD style

I'm having a hard time deciding if i want to use Starwind VSAN and VMWare. I work in education and we get Microsoft OS's at a huge discount, and I've played with TP4 of Server 2016 and it doesn't look too bad. VMWare I feel is far superior, but i'd have to pay for a truckload of other VMware software at the same time...

First question: Any experience with Starwind VSAN? Seems to be pretty awesome from everything I've researched on them, for the price too.

Second Question: See any caveats with the drives? My gb/day writes wont be that high on the 750s to worry about write-wearing prematurely.

Third Question: Anyone got experience using the 950 SSDs in a production environment and have any reason I should spent an extra 1500$cdn per SSD to get the P3700? Like I said my writes per day on it will not be very high, but would like to use them to run our local DBs.

Thanks!!

Last edited:

markpower28

Apr 9, 2013