Using Mellanox Infiniband DAC Cables for Ethernet, is this possible?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

TonyA

Sep 2, 2014
This previous thread suggests that using Mellanox Infiniband DAC cables, for ethernet instead should work OK.

However, as I'm new to all of this stuff I want to try to be as specific as possible to save laying out cash that is for things that won't work.

I picked up some Mellanox MCX4131A-GCAT 50Gbe HBAs, thus far I haven't plugged any cables into them as I'm still in 'trying to understand some of the basics' mode, I can get some Mellanox MCP1600-E003 100Gbe Infiniband DAC Cables.

Both the HBAs and the Cables are rated as QSFP28 compatible.

HBA spec sheet

Cable spec sheet

As I don't know if the, for want of a more appropriate description, transceivers at the end of the cables, are 'hard wired' only for Infiniband (or if they even can be) I'm cautious about spending money only to find out I've made a beginners mistake.

The previous thread was very helpful and gave me some confidence, but I thought it prudent to ask specific questions and hope to learn from others experience.

aosudh

Jan 25, 2023
It is possible, as long as yours switch have auto negotiation function and have proper portprofile

Reactions: TonyA

TonyA

Sep 2, 2014
It is possible, as long as yours switch have auto negotiation function and have proper portprofile
I was thinking of using them point to point right now as I want to try to get experience before investing in a switch.

I think I'll be looking at a 100Gbe switch, however prices seem circa $2.5k on E-Bay, I've been reading about the Brocade ICX switches that can be reflashed, but don't think any of those ones currently support 100Gbe.

aosudh

Jan 25, 2023
I was thinking of using them point to point right now as I want to try to get experience before investing in a switch.