Sun Oracle Flash Accelerator F40 400GB PCIe SSD - $99 + 15 BIN

Discussion in 'Great Deals' started by james23, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. paravirtual

    paravirtual New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does anyone know about how overprovisioning works on these? I picked one up for use as a ZFS SLOG device so I'll only actually need a partition a few gigs in size.

    I'm also wondering about where to get a full size pci bracket, but somebody already asked about that.

    edit: After doing a bit of research, it looks like Oracle's ddcli util will perform that operation. No idea where to actually get a hold of it and whether or not it will run outside of Oracle's distro, though. I probably need to dig up my oracle account info and log in.
     
    #61
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2016
  2. Jannis Jacobsen

    Jannis Jacobsen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    41
    #62
  3. paravirtual

    paravirtual New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, I took a look at that one but it seemed to be for a later model. I might give it a shot, though. 8 bucks isn't that much for an attempt. The seller was nice enough to provide the distance between screws so I can just measure the card when it arrives tomorrow.
     
    #63
  4. Marsh

    Marsh Moderator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    859
    I just checked with a LSI full height bracket. It will fit the Sun F40 card.
    BUT, you will loose the holes for the 3 LED in Sun F40 card.

    LSI / Seagate Windows version DDCLI.exe worked with F40 card. I think it allow you to format with OP
     
    #64
    T_Minus and paravirtual like this.
  5. rjoancea

    rjoancea New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Any thoughts on why I would be seeing only 3 disks @ 93GB per, not 4, upon loading this up in a Win 10 box?

    Fresh drivers updated just to make sure...

    Edit: Ugh, red status led on the card itself and LSI bios startup is only seeing 3 as well...Guessing I'm unlucky on the draw here with a failed ssd on the card, unless anyone has a brilliant idea otherwise.
     
    #65
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2016
  6. Marsh

    Marsh Moderator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    859
    You have a bad card, RMA it
     
    #66
    rjoancea likes this.
  7. rjoancea

    rjoancea New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for confirming my sanity here...2nd piece I got a chance to pull out from ebay acquisitions this weekend that was bad. Such is life...
     
    #67
  8. czl

    czl New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had the same problem with two of these cards -- red status lights and missing drives, etc. If you activate the card boot bios you will see some of the ssd's are "security locked" or something like that. To make that go away use ddcli to reformat. After this both my cards passed 2-3 hours of ZFS mirror / scub testing.

     
    #68
  9. paravirtual

    paravirtual New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for this. I got the util package from Seagate's site which included ddcli for all OSs. Ran the utility, formatted everything with the "performance" overprovision option which leaves 79.5GB usable.

    http://www.seagate.com/support/soli...rator-cards/nytro-warpdrive-accelerator-card/

    Set up 2 of the drives as an SLOG mirror and got 271 fsyncs/s from pveperf. I was getting about 100-120 before. Not good enough! So I set up 2 md stripes with all 4 drives (8k chunk size for the md stripe to match the disks, and ashift=14 for 16k sectors on the slog). Double the fsyncs, nice.

    So then I rebooted...and the box didn't come back up. I guess proxmox *really means it* when they say they don't support software RAID. I'm guessing that I probably didn't have the md modules available at boot.
     
    #69
    vintagehardware likes this.
  10. Jannis Jacobsen

    Jannis Jacobsen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    41
    Are these cards flashable with the lsi firmware package?
    Oracle firmware is not available without a valid support contract

    -J
     
    #70
  11. rkrenicki

    rkrenicki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    Mer.. I wish I had read this thread before I bought two at full price. I would have been quite happy to pay $70 each.
     
    #71
  12. rkrenicki

    rkrenicki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    I too have this question. If the LSI firmware was in IR mode.. I would be very interested in "crossflashing" to that, and using RAID0 on the controller level.
     
    #72
  13. Jannis Jacobsen

    Jannis Jacobsen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    41
    I got the card today.
    3 of 4 initialized.
    formatted with ddcli to performance, all 4 initialized, created stripeset in windows.
    Started copying data, and boom, 1 of 4 missing and stripeset gone.
    ddcli also reports 1 missing... :/

    -J
     
    #73
  14. Marsh

    Marsh Moderator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    859
    My 2 out of 6 cards behaved badly, 1 card won't ddcli format all 4 ssd correctly. 1 card won't read smart data with 1 ssd.
    Send them back for refund, I do not want to deal problems down the road.
     
    #74
  15. Jannis Jacobsen

    Jannis Jacobsen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    41
    Sending it back will probably cost as much as I have paid.
    I've sent them a message, and we'll see how it goes

    -J
     
    #75
  16. Marsh

    Marsh Moderator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    859
    In my case, seller paid for return shipping.
     
    #76
    Jannis Jacobsen likes this.
  17. mervincm

    mervincm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    30
    I bought two as well. The first no drives show up at all and makes a bad electrical smell even with a desk fan blowing right into the case. The second, well 3 drives show OK in SMART, one shows 887 failed blocks. I don't think I have a choice but to return them both as DoA.
     
    #77
  18. T_Minus

    T_Minus Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6,439
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    @mervincm I would def. return them. :( bummer
     
    #78
  19. BackupProphet

    BackupProphet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    258
    Shit, I'm getting 10 of them delivered to Norway via Jetcarrier. Still few weeks more to wait. I'm not looking forward to test them now.
     
    #79
  20. raileon

    raileon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    37
    Gonzo.
     
    #80
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2017
    wormcoffee likes this.

Share This Page