Proxmox + Storage

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

ideabox

Dec 11, 2016
Hey,

So I've built my first Proxmox VE cluster.
Ive been mainly a Mac and Windows guy and recently missed out on a job because my Linux was rubbish, So I'm diving in to train and so I first started with Unraid I liked it it was easy and intuitive but I needed 2 servers as It was cheaper to buy 2 than one high powered one. R710's from everyone here that I read.

Anyways...

Im a noob so forgive me,

I want to have a storage array connected to VE, Im thinking for getting a cheap rack chassis and building a storage array, 8x 1tb drives but how can I configure that to be joined into the clusters so other clusters can use it.

SUPERMICRO Black 2U Rackmount Server Case | eBay

The other thing is I also want it as a NAS/DAS into the VM's so I want to create a folder for example and it be available over the network to my VM's?

Thanks in advance
Phillip

Reactions: Net-Runner

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015
Are you going for a HA Cluster?

They state you need this for storage:
Shared storage (SAN or NAS/NFS for Virtual Disk Image Store for HA KVM)

However, it sounds like you want to use the storage on all nodes either way so even if not doing HA you still would likely be best off to simply setup your NAS with NFS and use that for VM disk images, storage, etc....

I would look at your cluster storage and NAS either 'together' or as 2 units for HA or simple redundancy via backups.

Most around here use FreeNAS or Napp-IT which are both ZFS based file systems but are 'NAS Appliance' packages ready to go. You can run them in a VM even or on baremetal depending on your needs (with Proxmox and storage in general). With ZFS and 8x1tB you're very likely going to want a SLOG so VM storage performance is increased, and for sure lots of RAM and maybe ConnectX2 cards for 10G.