Pfsense & Sophos in VM

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

mason736

Mar 17, 2013
I'm relatively new to advanced home networking. I currently run a Netgear WNDR3700 using OpenWrt as my router. I needed VLAN support to allow my SAN traffic and wireless traffic to be segregated from the main network traffic.

I have been running this setup, Modem > OpenWRT > Cisco SG200 (2) switches for a few years now. However, I'm starting to have trouble with the Netgear router, and want to move to a new appliance.

I have viewed a few threads on here of people running Pfsense and Sophos in a VM, but I don't understand how running the Firewall/Routing software in a VM, will allow the same functionality of my current setup. How can the firewall/routing software work correctly in a VM vs. having it sitting as an endpoint in my network?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks

Jeggs101

Dec 29, 2010
I'm relatively new to advanced home networking. I currently run a Netgear WNDR3700 using OpenWrt as my router. I needed VLAN support to allow my SAN traffic and wireless traffic to be segregated from the main network traffic.

I have been running this setup, Modem > OpenWRT > Cisco SG200 (2) switches for a few years now. However, I'm starting to have trouble with the Netgear router, and want to move to a new appliance.

I have viewed a few threads on here of people running Pfsense and Sophos in a VM, but I don't understand how running the Firewall/Routing software in a VM, will allow the same functionality of my current setup. How can the firewall/routing software work correctly in a VM vs. having it sitting as an endpoint in my network?

Any help is appreciated. Thanks