WANg

Introduction to the HP t730 Thin client - the little box that could

Your short and succint guide to the HP t730 thin client

  1. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    190
    WANg submitted a new resource:

    Introduction to the HP t730 Thin client - the little box that could - Your short and succint guide to the HP t730 thin client

    Read more about this resource...
     
    #1
    techtoys, SwanRonson, wsuff and 7 others like this.
  2. Patrick

    Patrick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11,558
    Likes Received:
    4,489
    Great guide!
     
    #2
  3. nthu9280

    nthu9280 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    358
    Really nice write-up!
     
    #3
    T_Minus likes this.
  4. MiniKnight

    MiniKnight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    859
    This is a fantastic resource.
     
    #4
    T_Minus likes this.
  5. SwanRonson

    SwanRonson Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3




    thanks as always for the in-depth info.

    it's kind of crazy HP hasn't updated these machines since 2014. I had no idea the SoC is that old. I think I will wait for an update -- but then, DDR4 prices make me sad...
     
    #5
  6. pcpaulh

    pcpaulh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I wonder if you can help. I'm trying to install ESXi on a couple of these boxes. The T730 'sees' the 16GB of memory that I have installed but the installer only 'sees' 7GB. Not sure what I'm doing wrong. I've tried 6.5 and 6.7 with the same results. Thank you in advance.
    Paul
     
    #6
  7. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    190
    My guess...memory types/timing issues, or a BIOS/firmware version not playing ball with your machine?
    The RAM controller on the Piledriver APUs should be pretty lenient as long as you pop in something compatible.
     
    #7
  8. cromo

    cromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just bought a brand new unit that unfortunately does not have WiFi antennas. Does anyone have any idea how to retrofit it? Can't find any information about it anywhere.
     
    #8
  9. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    190
  10. Andrew (PRVT)

    Andrew (PRVT) New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    The max RAM is 16GB, not 16 or 32 as shown down at the end.

    Would it be possible to correct the original post?

    Edit: It turns out that officially it is max 16GB, but it has been reported to work with 2x 16GB modules, so 32GB is possible for RAM.
     
    #10
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2019
  11. WANg

    WANg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    190
    Well, not merely reported to work, it's more like verified to work by the dude who wrote the guide (at least with the RAM I picked up) - I paid nearly 200 USD for a pair of 16GB DIMM (it's closer to 170 nowadays). The upgrade cost almost as much as the thin client on the secondary markets itself. The same 32GB RAM capability also applies to the t620/t620 plus.

    The one major downside is that it's sunk cost.
    You can't reuse the RAM on much else later - Only DDR3 based AMD machines, Broadwell based DDR3 NUCs, iMacs or laptops.
    Haswell and below can't support beyond 8GB/slot, Skylakes and above uses DDR4.

    It's chasing slightly bad money with good.
     
    #11
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2019
    fohdeesha, BLinux and Andrew (PRVT) like this.
  12. David Smith

    David Smith New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    #12

Share This Page