Home/Garden WiFi

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Overlandr

May 2, 2020
Hello, I am new to networking and want to learn more and heard you help with that stuff here?
I am looking to install wifi in to my garden, but I am not sure what to use. I would like something that can work in conjunction with an AP inside my house as well. I was looking at Ubiquiti airMAX stuff before I saw they only work between themselves and won't connect to my phone.
I am now looking at maybe a Ubiquiti UniFi AC Outdoor Mesh and a Ubiquiti Networks UAP-AC-LITE. Alternatively, I was looking at a TP-Link EAP225-Outdoor Omada and a TP-Link EAP225 Omada. They both add up to £150 ish.
Some added info; I have a long thin garden so a directional AP would be good, but I'm not sure what would be good.
I want this to be as cheap as possible, but be reliable.

TL;DL Help with good value house and garden WiFi
Thanks

al_bundy

May 1, 2020
third realm
threerealms.com.au
Hey.
A unifi setup should work fine in your situation.

Tplink have come leap and bounds on their consumer router front but I personally haven't used their access points.

The normal unifi access points can be installed outside just not in direct elements.
The unifi out door mesh is 5ghz only so this maybe an issue for some devices.
What's the distance from the house to where the furthest you want wifi.

al_bundy

May 1, 2020
third realm
threerealms.com.au
50m will be pushing it for an install on the house. You will likely be able to get a connecting on 2.4ghz even maybe 5ghz but the quality will be reliant on many factors. So if you are looking at only browsing the web it may work. Netflix and video calling will likely be a no

Is there any restrictions to the physical install eg can you get a cable halfway down to install say the unifi flex hd which should be good for a 25m raidus out doors.

Reactions: Overlandr

Terry Kennedy