Help! Supermicro case shutting self off after a few minutes

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

AveryFreeman

consummate homelabber
Mar 17, 2017
Near Seattle
averyfreeman.com
Hi everyone,

I have a new computer I'm trying to put together, it's an X9SPU-F and a SC825-5 case from Supermicro. I've never built a full supermicro computer before, I've just used their motherboards in other manufacturer's cases, so I'm a little confused by some of the intricacies of their chassis.

I have redundant hot-swappable PSU and intrusion detection, all of which I have never worked with before.

Anyway, I have the server all put together except for the riser cards. I've used the motherboard in a different case, so I'm fairly confident it works OK. It was fine then.

After a few minutes the computer shuts itself off. I am wondering, does anyone know if there's some feature that might be doing this?

As I write this, I'm starting to wonder if perhaps it's not a thermal issue ... but if anyone has any ideas about what else it might be, I'm all ears.

Thanks!
-Avery

AveryFreeman

consummate homelabber
Mar 17, 2017
Near Seattle
averyfreeman.com
Yep ... that's what it was :facepalm:

EDIT: Actually, now that I have fixed the thermal issue, it's still having problems. The two power supplies seem to be interacting with each other weird. If I pull the cables out just a little bit, it'll turn on, but I can't know for how long.

If it were a more simple device, I would think it might have an issue with the contacts, but the whole dual hot-swappable power supply thing is so complicated it seems like there could be other issues going on, perhaps the way they're interacting (if one of them is dying and the other isn't), or perhaps the internal contacts, or a component either on the hot-swap interface or inside one of the power supplies itself.