H240 shows up during POST but not in SSACLI

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

farbener

Mar 6, 2024
Hello there

I'm trying to setup TrueNAS Core on my HP DL380p Gen8 in a ESXI 6.5 VM.

I bought a H240 HBA because I couldn't get a H220 used as some forums stated it works just fine.
I installed the card in slot 2, redone the internal wiring so I actually can use it. It shows up during the boot process with 3 Logical drives (have only one installed aswell)

In iLO4 I checked the system logs and it shows as 2 defective drives and 1 working. I believe the card is set in RAID mode instead of HBA so I want to change that. Doesn't show up in SSA so I wanted to check with SSACLI which doesn't find it either.

I'm not that experienced in Servers in general. My prior experience is with a old Workstation made into a small Bare Metal.

My P420i has 2 drives attached both seperate Raid 0
The H240 should right now have 1 drive attached, passthrough to ESXI for the TrueNAS

I attached some screenshots that maybe help?

Appreciate the help

Attachments

BLinux

cat lover server enthusiast
Jul 7, 2016
artofserver.com
sounds like the card is working, although you'll want to verify full functionality later on.

user programs like ssacli might not work if the OS driver for the card isn't installed or not loading correctly. can you confirm the driver loaded and detected the card? I forget how to do that in FreeBSD, but I think there should be a tool called lspci on the command line that you can use to see which driver is in use for each PCIe device. alternatively, looking through the system logs might also reveal detection (or lack of) the card by the OS and loading the driver.

farbener

Mar 6, 2024
sounds like the card is working, although you'll want to verify full functionality later on.