File server + desktop solution Qs

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

BobbyT

Aug 23, 2017
Disclaimer: I'm a super noob when it comes to NA/file servers/pretty-much-anything-network-related. PLease be gentle with me.

I recently moved my work pc to the living room after a bit of maintenance and have become quite accustomed to gaming on 42in tv I scored from a second hand store (for 100 USD too!).

This lead me to thinking about building another pc. Then I noticed the tangle of external HDDs and realised things would be much worse with two terminals. Enter thoughts about a home server or NAS.

To avoid having too many boxes around my apartment, I wanted to build a server (of some sort) and desktop pc combo.

Use case:
> Server: no more than 3 simulataneous connections at any one time; runs Plex; backup server for my work data, R projects, documents, MetaTrader4 data; off-site access; things I'm not thinking of due to naivety
> Workstation: operate as a 'standard' desktop capable of heavy multitasking (several MT4 terminals, Rstudio cruching microarray data, any number of office documents open, firefox bursting at the seams with open tabs), must have Windows as host or VM.

My current setup runs an 6700k (noOC), 16gb memory and a gtx 750ti. The most resources I have seen used is ~50% memory and ~15% cpu during non-gaming time. I'm aware that a similar hardware setup will be required for the above use case.

What I'm unsure about is the soft side of things. This is all crazy Greek to me. So far I can see the following options:
Linux(Host) > Windows VM > all my workstation stuffs
^>freeNAS or unRAID or something more suitable

Windows > all my workstations stuffs
^>freeNAS or unRAID or something more suitable