Core i7 coffee lake home server - or better skylake xeon?

Discussion in 'Processors and Motherboards' started by stefan77, Sep 20, 2018.

1. stefan77

stefan77 New Member

Hi folks,

I want to build a small server and need some opinions.

Purpose of the build: Small All-In-One Home Server (OpenHab, Couple of small VMs, a bit of storage, maybe firewall / VPN appliance)

So overall, not tooooo heavy stuff.

Most important:
    - decent energy on idle
    - long life @ 24/7 (not taking power supply life time into account)

After doing some CPU research, I ended up with the conclusion that the Core i7-8700T is my favor at the moment.

Now, I have no experience with Core i CPUs at all. Only used Xeons so far. Unfortunately, I can't wait for the Xeon E-2100 to be available. But on the other hand, I want the most recent architecture and Supermicro has a nice range of 1151 boards for the 8th gen Core processors.

I will be fine with I/O. My main consideration is non-ECC. No experience with that. How much does it matter running 24/7?

Recommendations?

2. pricklypunter

pricklypunter Well-Known Member