Search results

1. T

Killing Time

My wife is a stay at home mom and I moved to work from home about 18 months ago so not much has changed for me other than the short humans are here a lot more. The only thing is we had a sewer leak in the slab under the kitchen cabinets in February that necessitated removing most of the base...
  2. T

NTP server on different subnet help!

Does pfsense have a route to 192.168.253.0/24? Nevermind, You posted while I was typing. I'm not a pfsense expert but could it be that you need a rule to allow the server access to NTP since pfsense doesn't have an interface on that subnet?
  3. T

NTP server on different subnet help!

That gateway isn't on the same network as the host address so that's one problem.
  4. T

Sophos UTM v XG or something else....

Personally, I prefer UTM as long you are under the 50 IP limit. Also, look into using OpenDNS. There are two free options that provide an extra layer by filtering at the DNS level. First option is just use their public DNS servers as upstream and it will block adult sites. Second free option...
  5. T

MikroTik CRS305-1G-4S+IN Review 4-Port Must-Have 10GbE Switch

Does anyone know the answer to this one? I think everything else has been addressed elsewhere but I'm very interested in this before purchasing one.
  6. T

How Does Microsoft ID Motherboard for Windows 10 Upgrade

I built a new Windows 10 test vm a month or so ago and it activated just fine.
  7. T

How Does Microsoft ID Motherboard for Windows 10 Upgrade

Don’t even have to install the previous version first. You can still activate windows 10 with the old key.
  8. T

One big home server or several small ones?

Put me in the single server camp as well. I've had a 3 node vsphere cluster running Starwind for SAN storage and doing maintenance was a massive headache. I'm down to one "prod" esx server and running FreeNAS virtualized for NAS duties. I do have one lab server where I can move everything to...
  9. T