Search results

1. V

server/workstation case + hotswap

I have a Lenovo TS140 server which I made a bit of a mistake buying as it is rather limited in number of drives it can take and power supplied from it's power supply so I'm interested in putting together another low power server/workstation in a case with 8 hotswap drive bays (just for practical...
  2. V

Looking for ideas on extending storage for home aio ZFS/VM + lower power servers

This post covers more topics than ZFS but as ZFS storage is most relevant, I wrote it here. History: I wanted to put a ESXI based ZFS/VM server in the cellar. Not being an IT admin/hw expert, I may have had some unrealistic ideas - I wanted to sit in my room and access any VM I wanted to play...
  3. V

Newbie need some help with disk replacement for napp-it AIO

Hi, Due to Lenovo TS140 psu power limitation, I'm being cautious and want to remove one SSD. At the moment, the AIO looks like this: 2HDD (mirror) + 2SSD (mirror) + 1 local SSD for OmniOS & ESXI I would appreciate if I could get some pointers on how to do the following (haven't grasped things...
  4. V

ZFS AIO

My "dream" was to use the AIO for storage and running VMs from cellar and have monitor in my room (home/learning setup). Due to inexperience and lack of understanding of ZFS/ESXI and other requirements I purchased hardware which is limited: -WYSE P45 PCoiP thin client to have in my room -Lenovo...
  5. V

Intel 82583V driver for ESXI

I'm playing around with a fanless i3/7100U 16GB mini pc with 6 82583V gigabit lan ports and wanted to install ESXI 6.5 but get the message "No network adapters" If I login and double check the controller via: lspci -v | grep "Class 0200" -B 1, it shows 6 82583V vmnics with Class 0200...
  6. V

need advice on home pfsense / cisco virtual wireless controller setup