Search results

1. J

Wireless AP selection

Hi. I know a lot of people praise the Ruckus units with unleashed firmware. And I can understand why, especially if you could purchased something like an R710 a year or so ago for <$200. However that just doesn't seem like the market today. The best I've managed to find right now is $250 and...
  2. J

LSI HBA BIOS disk ID

This is something that has always frustrated me. I don't understand how the BIOS comes up with these disk names/IDs. I've looked in the LSI configuration utility and I can see the #0700 and #8300 are the PCI slots. But the "IDXX" for the disks isn't referenced in the LSI utilities or using...
  3. J

Proxmox networks

I'm relatively new to Proxmox and I'm looking for insight on proper setup of Proxmox networking. It seems there are various networks that need to be considered. Admin (gui/ssh), cluster (corosync), storage, migration/replication, external network for guest VM's, and maybe more I'm missing. What...
  4. J

Joyent Triton/SDC/SmartOS discussion

Hi guys, I was wondering if any of you out there are using Joyent Triton (formally SmartDataCenter) and SmartOS in production/homelab/whatever? I'm testing it out and know I'm going to run into some questions once I get past the basics. My biggest complaint is that there aren't many places to...
  5. J

Learning Storage Spaces, poor 4k writes

Hi, I'll preface this with I've not worked with storage spaces until a like 2 days ago. I wanted to see how it performed in server 2016. I'm working my way through basic mirrors, onto write-back cache/read cache, and tiered storage. I'm NOT doing S2D testing (not interested until the licensing...
  6. J

Intel RMM issues