Intel Xeon E5-2670 Deal and Price Tracking

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

AdditionalPylons

Apr 12, 2016
Oslo, Norway
Reactions: Hrast

SINN78

Apr 3, 2016
Stress test all done for those like me that wondered if the intel board could fit into a regular case such as the Corsair Obsidian 750d
I'm sad to report it didn't fit (pause) lol

Boddy

Oct 25, 2014
I purchased the Natex Combo deal with the intention of setting up a Promox/ESXi w/ FreeNAS all in one. I've just recently read that this may not be possible without a RAID card or HBA? I'm very new to all this so I'm not sure if that's actually true. If it is, can someone suggest a card?
There is Intel RMS25KB080 being sold by kalleyomalley on EBay, previously mentioned on this thread. They are accepting offers for $40 each. NB. Will only work with certain Intel boards and CPU's such as those on Natex. You can search this thread for more info.

Intel RMS25KB080 OEM SG35828 Integrated PCIe RAID Module New Bulk Packaging

jwegman

Mar 6, 2016
Can this be flashed with IT LSI firmware ?
That answer is 'yes'. Depending on the hardware stepping (B0 or D1), the RMS25KB080 (and the mezzanine variant RMS25JB080) are flashed with either the LSI 9205-8e, or the 9207-8i FW. They are very easy to cross flash. Just use the sas2flash utility to erase area 6, then flash the new FW (and optionally the BIOS). I hadn't needed to re-add the SAS address afterwards...

Here's a guy talking about flashing his (as he's using the 9207-8i FW, he has the D1 stepping):
My experience with cross flashing Intel Integrated RAID Module RMS25KB040 with IT mode firmware | FreeNAS Community

To reiterate, these cards are HARDWARE LOCKED to only work on specific E5 Xeon INTEL SERVER boards. Crossflashing doesn't alter this. However if you have the Intel s2600 family board, I think that these are a good/inexpensive option.

svt3391

Feb 11, 2016