Recent content by michaeld

1. M

SAS Expander Options (no mobo needed)

I'm still learning SAS/expanders. For the Intel RES3FV288, Intel specifies ports to be used as inputs, so that's why I asked about inputs/outputs. This is from the user manual: I have ordered the Adaptec 9361-8i 82885T and plan on using the external ports as inputs.
  2. M

Looking at the user manual for the Adaptec card, it looks like any 2 ports can be used as an input (connected to a RAID controller? Am I correct? I'd like to use I/H as the inputs to connect to the RAID card in the server...
  3. M

That Adaptec 82885T is exactly what I need. Thanks, @ari2asem
  4. M

LSI SAS9201-16e HBA Activity LED headers

If you're not the DIY type, you could always buy this cable assembly and remove the wires attached to the switch and just use the two LEDs.
  5. M

LSI SAS9201-16e HBA Activity LED headers

You need this cable with an LED soldered on the end. If your case has some unused front panel indicator lights, you've already got what you need.
  6. M

Hello all, I'm researching Molex-powered SAS Expanders that don't require a mobo/PCI-E slot and figured I could save a lot of time by asking here. WHAT I WANT TO DO: Add a JBOD disk shelf/DAS to an existing server. Looking at taking 8 lanes/2 ports off the existing Adaptec 72405 RAID...
  7. M

Software RAID0 on a duallie - split the drives b/t CPUs or both on 1 CPU? (Chia mining related)

Bump for help/advice. My RAM showed up today and Win10 is loading as we speak. Would like to get the system built in the next couple of days...so much plotting I'm missing out on. 32 cores vs. the 12 I'm using now. :D
  8. M

Software RAID0 on a duallie - split the drives b/t CPUs or both on 1 CPU? (Chia mining related)