Which switch is better Cisco WS-C3560G-48TS-S or HP 2910al-48G

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Tristimulus

Jan 11, 2014
I'm looking to setup managed 48 port switch
I'm new to managed networking switches.
I have two options now:
Cisco WS-C3560G-48 (used)
Cisco Catalyst 3560 Series Switches Data Sheet - Cisco
HP 2910al-48G (new)
HP Support document - HP Support Center

Power consumption idle
Cisco - 62W
HP - 53W
which means for me because switch will on all the time
Cisco switch is 10$ more expensive per year to operate in power usage.

One major difference
Cisco has ability to setup DHCP, but HP does not.
This is not critical, but some disadvantage of HP switch
I'm not familiar with Cisco iOS, but will to learn if needed.

HP switch has another advantage ability to add 10GB in the future and Cisco doesn't have that ability, so it is less future proof.

Why I need managed switch:
I'm looking to set ups VLAN, to have isolated sub nets.
Need to learn how to do it
Supermicro recommends to have all motherboards with IPMI connection to be in isolated sub nets.
I also want to put printers and some other local devices on isolated sub nets.

So which switch is the better one for me?

Scott Laird

Aug 30, 2014
Keep in mind that you'll need some way to route traffic between VLANs. Cheaper managed switches are only L2 devices, while more expensive ones can do some L3 routing. I'm not convinced that there's any reason to break IPMI out onto its own VLAN unless you're going to put some sort of firewall in front of it, but that's a different topic. Generally, switches are lousy at filtering traffic.

The Cisco WS-C3560G-48 seems to be able to do static L3 routing of IPv4 traffic, but not IPv6 or dynamic routing protocols (without an extra-cost license), and costs $499 or so on eBay (buy-it-now) right now.