Tyan Motherboard Longevity

Discussion in 'Processors and Motherboards' started by Johnny Mnemonic, Mar 28, 2018.

1. Johnny Mnemonic

I've been looking for a cheaper option for building a Epyc 1401P rack server that can utilize U.2 NVMe drives. While the Dell R6415 is nice, once you select the NVMe option, the price balloons to almost $3,700. I found the Tyan B8026G62FE10HR bare-bone for $1,485 that checks all my boxes. My only problem is that i have no experience with Tyan. Can anyone share their experiences with Tyan products? Am i looking at issues going this route?

2. MiniKnight

MiniKnight Well-Known Member

I'd prefer Dell's option. Second Supermicro. Tyan and Gigabyte seem like third options. If this was Intel, Tyan is fine. I don't know of any real Tyan issues other than I've heard they don't have the same level of support behind their products as the larger guys.

3. Johnny Mnemonic

I kind of thought that might be the case. I know that the Dell's are solid, just didn't want to overpay.

4. Evan

Evan Well-Known Member

Tyan are a solid option but less community support than the others. Don’t know about AMD but they do make some IBM Power servers that are ok.

5. Johnny Mnemonic

I did notice that there seems to be a lack conversation on them. I've found a couple of professional reviews from different generations from STH and Phoronix but it is surprising that a manufacture that has been around for so long has such a low market penetration in the states.

6. Nizmo

Nizmo Member

I put Gigabyte and Tyan products in same class, and I find them to be fantastic for what its worth.

7. fsck

fsck Member