Thoughts for a Workstation Build

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Jek

Sep 8, 2016
I have a brief history with this subject. It has all been based on AMD desktop processors, overclocking and water cooling not, server processors. If I can afford a system based on Intel's Xeon I will but, this may best be considered a separate plan. Reference either in your response.

My goal is to specify a workstation for engineering and physical science use. I mean this literally as well as the more general referents of applications and method development. I prefer the tower case because, I do not have racks for mounting and regard this as a frivolous expense for a home (I am not an IT professional that might need to invest in a rack). I am strongly attracted to low TDP yet, not to the point that performance night be overly reduced. I am currently looking at dual & quad G34 motherboards
but, lack significant experience with this hardware that could make me susceptible to claims rather than fact.

If you have references to refer me to please do so. It best best to build a position rather than merely fall subject to those of others...

Jek

Sep 8, 2016
Yes, these systems do look good. Thanks for the posts and the article references.

wildpig1234

Aug 22, 2016
For reference, using y cruncher, a heavily multithread app, my 2x e5-2670 is almost 4 times faster than my single i7-2600k setup. This is just calculating pi to the max number of digits (5 billions) using only ram. obviously the 2011 WS can go to 21 billions digit and would kill the i7-2600k even more since the i7 MB is maxed out at only 32GB ram compared to the 2011 which has 128GB.