Sun Oracle Flash Accelerator F40 400GB PCIe SSD - $99 + 15 BIN

Discussion in 'Great Deals' started by james23, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. KypDurron

    KypDurron New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just won an offer Qty 4 @ $80 ea - time to see if I can flash these with firmware from seagate.
     
    #141
  2. chiuljnk

    chiuljnk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    if you are going to use these with ESXi 6.0 or 6.5, I would not recommend. Lots of problems. But otherwise working perfectly in Windows 10.
     
    #142
  3. KypDurron

    KypDurron New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, wasn't planning on ESXi but may leave them alone so long as they all have the same firmware loaded. Was likely going to use 2016 and Storage Spaces. Need to build out an SCCM lab and play around some.
     
    #143
  4. vBuild2BAU

    vBuild2BAU Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    I bought 4 of these specifically to use on ESXi 6.5. Can you please expand on the issues you had?
     
    #144
  5. vBuild2BAU

    vBuild2BAU Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just went up the thread to answer my previous question. I think these 2 threads are related to the issues you saw on ESXi when used as datastores.

    https://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/m...nguage=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=1030265

    Lost access to local datastore | VMware Communities
     
    #145
  6. extremeodd

    extremeodd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank-you for posting this, I had thought when I first tested these cards while updating the firmware that they were reading faster than they are now. Your screenshot confirms my suspicions that something is amiss. Dumb question: The screenshots appear to be from windows 10, did you stripe the drives using the built in windows tool or did you use a different method?

    I appreciate it, thanks!
     
    #146
  7. KypDurron

    KypDurron New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just got the 4 in, all but one has 100% PE Cycles, Reserverd Blocks Remaining, and Warranty Remaining except for one, which had 99%. Downloaded the Nytro Utility Management 115.00.15.00 and the following firmware that I found on Seagates website: NWD-BLP4-400 12.00.02.00 and 13.00.08.00. However when I attempt to update the firmware to either for my ELP-4x100-4d-n I get:

    The specified package file is not compatible with teh selected WarpDrive.
    Package Board Name: NWD-BLP4-400
    WarpDrive Board Name: ELP-4x100-4d-n

    Current Firmware on board is 109.05.27.00

    Am I doing something wrong or are these boards just not going to take the Seagate firmware? Any advice is welcome. Thanks in advance.
     
    #147
  8. chiuljnk

    chiuljnk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    this is a sun product, not a Nytro WarpDrive. Someone posted the latest Sun firmware on page 4 of this thread. There is a way to hack the utility to force it to bypass this check, but it requires using a live-debugger like IDA, and poking in machine-language opcodes as it single-steps through the program. Even then, after flashing the Seagate firmware, it'll cripple the card by putting it in PCIE 1x mode.
     
    #148
    lowfat and KypDurron like this.
  9. KypDurron

    KypDurron New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, was originally looking at this post and it seemed he was using Seagate Nytro firmware on the F40. Used the firmware on page 5 and took my cards from 09.05.42.00 to 13.05.10.01. Time to start over on benchmarks and see if any improvements.
     
    #149
  10. lowfat

    lowfat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    62
    #150
  11. Twist

    Twist Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    29
    Does it have holes for the leds ?
     
    #151
  12. lowfat

    lowfat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    62
    No it doesn't. The acrylic pieces for the LEDs are small inserts that sit inside of the slot adapter itself. It would have been very difficult for me to get the exact measurements to get those inserts to be in the right spot.
     
    #152
  13. Twist

    Twist Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    29
    I tried to drill out the holes for the acrylic inserts and also noticed it was difficult to line them up hehe.
     
    #153
  14. chiuljnk

    chiuljnk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    #154
  15. luannanxian

    luannanxian New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sure,it works in a greate condition.
     
    #155
  16. chiuljnk

    chiuljnk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    #156
  17. lowfat

    lowfat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    62
    Got a 4 drive version from 912tradermatt912. Each drive has around 50TB in writes, which isn't bad for eMLC.
     
    #157
  18. Arthur Krewat

    Arthur Krewat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    So there's no way to get these cards to do RAID of any sort without crippling it and putting it PCI-e x1 mode?
     
    #158
  19. Twist

    Twist Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    29
    The next Aida64 Beta (4225) will report smart data for these drives :)

    Also notice, each ssd reports temperature from 3 sensors.

    F40 Smart.jpg
     
    #159
  20. eroji

    eroji Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    30
    I tried using this in Windows 10 and it showed multiple disks in Disk Management. Do I need some sort of driver to get this to work?
     
    #160

Share This Page