SMB Server Migration

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Fernan Lopez

Mar 2, 2017
Hi, there . As I'm newbie here i'll give some background
I work as IT Support in a local electronic and home stuff supplier. And also supporting a small Shipagent and broker company (small Office with 10 Workstations). There i get an old Windows SBS 2003 environment which I'm planning to migrate, due to recent end of life for SBS2003. I'm a bit stucked as microsoft is no longer giving any alternative to SBS. So this is my actual configuration. I'd really appreciate any advice or suggest

Actual Prod Environment

Server1 (server01)
Hardware
IBM X3200 M4 Server with Intel Xeon Dual Core
2x 250Gb SATA Disks in RAID 1.
DIMM 4Gb Installed Memory
Now this Prod Server is running:
SBS 2003 with SP2
roles:
AD DS
DHCP
DNS
MS Exchange 2003 with SP2
(Download google apps accounts into ExchSrv through pop3 to exchg application )
File Server (Only shared folders)

Server2 (sqlsrv) - New One
Hardware
HP ML110 Gen9
2 x 2TB SATA Disk in RAID 1
DIMM 2x4GB 1333
Now this Prod Server is running;
Server 2012 R2
SQL Server 2008 R2 (Database server)

Now i want to demote SBS Server and migrate my domain controller to Srv 2012 R2
And DNS, DHCP Roles
What should i do ?
Virtualize DC with HyperV?
What about Mail server, maybe a VM running Zimbra or something?
What should i do with the old one? Maybe DC replica (2008R2) or File server instead?

Thanks a lot.

GaryD9

Feb 15, 2017
Pittsburgh, PA (USA)
The path from SBS is Server Essentials. You lose Exchange in the process. There are several posts across the internet detailing the migration steps. (google "migrate SBS to Essentials 2012 R2". Here's one on the first page of results: Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials Migration – Keys to Success)