Ruckus Zone Director home license help

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

dwabraxus

Jan 30, 2021
Hey,

I am a network engineer and power wifi user. I run a full radius backend with packetfence and 3 SSIDs at my home. I am currently using a Cisco WLC 2504 with 2x 3800 APs in my apartment. However, with this controller going EOL and my moving into a new home, I figured now was a good time to try out another wifi vendor. After a bit of research I settled on a Ruckus ZD1200 controller and a pair of R750s. Now onto the complex part. I purchased all this via ebay to save money and got a bunch of extras. My ZD1200 came with 8 AP license, and a few R500s and T300s. So now I need to figure out how to license all this.

I know I will need a 801-1205-1000 or 801-1205-3000 to get my controller able to install updates firmware. I assume I need to get at least 1 of each of my APs on a support contract to be able to download firmware for them too. What is the bare minimum I need to be able to get this all working and able to install updated firmware? Do I need to have a support license for my R750 and R500 to get firmware for different AP models? Or is it ok to just have my ZD controller under a support contract? Keep in mind this is home use and not commercial, but I do want the roaming features of ZD over Unleashed.

j_h_o

Apr 21, 2015
California, US
The ZD1200 license will cover n number of APs - you don't need to license additional APs as you described; the ZD1200 firmware includes firmware for all supported APs which it will push. So just license your ZD1200 for the number of APs you want to use.

Latest ZD1200 supports these APs:

1632281975545.png

My ZD1200 is licensed for 5 APs using 851-1205-1000. I'm not sure what you should use.

Last edited:

nerdalertdk

Fleet Admiral
Mar 9, 2017
::1
Hey,