pcie gen 4 enterprise nvme ssd ~80% price rise questions

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

robx

Jan 16, 2021
So I am very new to the enterprise hardware world but am purchasing server parts now and have noticed over the past 6-8 months the prices for pcie gen 4 nvme drives go up by about 60% or so. I have been watching the prices on both ebay and newegg and the average price for pm9a3 3.84tb drives has gone from ~$150 to ~$270 (used on ebay august 2023) and $300 (wiredzone december 2023) to now $548 (newegg now). CD6 drives have followed similar trend.

Is this some new trend from AI buying up all the supplies or some regular thing to expect that prices sort of go up and down like this? Should prices fall in the future? Seems like pcie gen4 drives should be around for a while even though a lot of the big guys are moving onto the gen5 stuff. Seems like the gen4 stuff should be getting cheaper as well, not more expensive... Is it normal when something new faster comes out, that the older generation price fluctuates this much?

Any insights would be appreciated. Trying to pick up ~30 more drives and not liking where this trend is going. Considering waiting this out because, you know, older stuff should be cheaper....

izx

Jan 17, 2016
The cost of NAND flash memory has been going up since summer/early fall 2023 and that's reflected in used prices too from anyone who's reselling them for profit.

It's not because homelabbers dabbling in AI are gobbling up used SSDs.

Flash memory pricing is cyclical, so used prices will decrease too with the next downturn, but we don't know when that's coming.

Samir

Post Liker and Deal Hunter Extraordinaire!
Jul 21, 2017
HSV and SFO