Minimal hardware for napp-it all-in-one?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

leecallen

Jan 20, 2014
I posted in a different thread: I have been running SmartOS on a SuperMicro motherboard for 6+ years, with spinning disks. I have decided I want to re-architect my ZFS/NAS solution using OmniOS and napp-it, and preferably AiO so I can put all my VMs on the same server and get local disk speed.

My current implementation is big and noisy (and kind of expensive) and I want to go small / lean / quiet / cheap this time. Ideally mini-itx with SSD.

I have given a lot of thought to the ECC issue and I am going to forego ECC. It really limits the motherboard (and therefore form factor) options and drives up the cost, esp to get a CPU with enough speed to handle my VMs. I think I understand the risks: a very small chance of a memory corruption that could be saved to disk, possibly corrupting the filesystem. FWIW my disk usage is read intensive, so I think that reduces the risk.

By foregoing ECC I can get a bunch of cores and lots of memory in a mini-ITX form factor, at a modest cost.

gea, I have been going through your AiO and Examples documents and I have some questions.

I want to avoid getting a RAID adapter in IT mode - I did that for my current system, ended up buying a used adapter on eBay, and the first one was defective - the whole thing cost me a couple of weeks.

You mention USB boot is an option but you seem to strongly prefer SSD, even SSD over USB. Why? Is USB flash disk practical?

If I do one of the above, can I then utilize the motherboard SATA for all of my pool disks? Or would I not have access to pass-thru mode in that configuration?
Or could all of my pool disks be NVMe, so I can avoid the complication of getting a RAID adapter in IT mode?

Thanks in advance for any & all advice!

gea

Dec 31, 2010
DE