maximum raid5 stripes using an SFF-8088 (4 lanes) controller

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

gs2023

Dec 22, 2023
Italy
blog.sguazz.it
Hi, I am new to PCIe and SATA details and I would like to know if the number of raid stripes should match the SAS/SATA cable lines used by my controller.

My machine is a DELL PowerEdge T40 with Debian GNU/Linux and an LSI controller 9207-8e plugged on a PCIe 3.0 slot connected to the PCH and flashed in IT mode. The controller uses a SAS2308 chipset and is connected to an external enclosure with a single SFF-8088 cable.
On the enclosure we may have up to 24 disks and I now wonder the kind of RAID I should setup with linux multidisk raid5 module.

On a single raid5 multidisk, should I use as many disks as possible or should I limit them to 4 since the SFF-8088 cable has 4 lines? From how many disks at the same time may this controller read?
Does this change if I use slower or faster disks? Does the SATA protocol multiplexes the lines for communicating to other disks while waiting for a reply?

Thank you,
Giuseppe

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
How large are the disks? Is this for testing?
I would use raid 5 (or 0) only for testing or prototyping, everything else would feel unsafe to me with that many hdds ._.

According to an older specsheet the hba supports "up to 24 sas dualport devices", so 24. It doesn't make a difference if you use "slower" or "faster" disks or ssds with the hba.
The hosts talks scsi to the hba, the hba* talks sata to the sata devices.

*a hba is a "dumb" device compared to a raid controller, but it is still "smart enough" to recognize sas or sata devices and use the correct protocols for communication

gs2023

Dec 22, 2023
Italy
blog.sguazz.it
How large are the disks? Is this for testing?