Help needed to set up a WebRTC media server on a physical server

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Eduar Tua

Apr 14, 2023
Hello everyone,

I am new to physical servers and would appreciate your help in setting up a WebRTC media server on a Dell Poweredge R730 server that I recently purchased on Ebay. I am planning to use this server as a lab server to build my POC.

Here are my requirements:

• I need to run a WebRTC application that will handle p2p connections.
  • One end of the WebRTC agents will be connected through the server via PCI-E/USB Host Controllers.
  • Every PCIE Slot used will handle around 100 PCM Audio signals, at a very low bit rate and not simultaneously.
  • I'm planning to have a server with at least 7 or 8 PCI-E Slots.
  • The server doesn't need virtualization as this will be just a standalone WebRTC media server. (I'm not 100% sure about this)
Since I am new to physical servers, any recommendations on how to start this project would be greatly appreciated. Specifically, I would like to know what software I need to install on the server to run the WebRTC application and how to configure the PCI-E/USB Host Controllers.

Imagine that you were to run this kind of application. What kind of servers (brand/model) would you buy?

Also, if you could recommend any servers for a production environment that would meet my requirements, that would be amazing.

Thank you in advance for your help. I look forward to your recommendations.

DavidWJohnston

Sep 30, 2020
The scope of this question is very large - But I will try to say something useful: