150 IP Camera Server Set Up - DL380 G9

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Zeevy

Jul 4, 2021
Hello all. I’m extremely new to servers and server hardware. I’m working to build an IP camera security system using ZoneMinder on Ubuntu 18.04 desktop. Eventually I’ll have 125-150 cameras spread across 8-10 buildings with ubiquiti Ethernet bridges.

I’m looking to buy some hardware that can be expanded in the future as needed. I’ve found a HPE Proliant DL380 G9 24 | 1x 10C 2.6GHZ | 32GB | 2x 900GB.10K | P440 on eBay for $1,158. I can add another Intel E5-2660v3 10C 2.6GHz/25M Processor for $168 as well as significantly expand RAM, HHD, fans and it’s all hot swapable.

It seems like it should suit my purposes well. Is there a reason why this is a bad choice?

Just to clarify a few questions:
- Can I take my Western Digital external hard drives out of their cases and put them in hot swap trays/caddy’s?

- Is this kind of hardware appropriate for 100-150 cameras? It will only be running zoneminder and nothing else.

- Can I hook 2-3 screens up to this server to spread the view of all the cameras? i.e. have a multi-monitor computer. I want to be able to see everything at the same time. It looks like this has only one VGA port out for monitor connection. I believe I can add some graphics cards that have HDMI correct? Can something different be added or am I not understanding correctly?

Last edited:

BlueFox

Legendary Member Spam Hunter Extraordinaire
Oct 26, 2015
What resolution and framerate on the cameras? Do you need motion detection or the likes? If the former is high, you will likely need an incredibly beefy setup, if ZoneMinder can even handle that many concurrent cameras. If you also need the later, I'm not sure if that's feasible.

Zeevy

Jul 4, 2021