Search results

1. L

$119 BO ($139) 480GB Toshiba THNSNJ480PCS3/ HK3R Enterprise SATA SSD - NEW

No, paid 139, since there were only 4 left and there were several active offers, I decided to pay the original price. Still a great deal in my opinion.
  2. L

$119 BO ($139) 480GB Toshiba THNSNJ480PCS3/ HK3R Enterprise SATA SSD - NEW

Damn this part of the forum! Anyway, picked up the last 4 drives they had, thanks to zeynel for helping me spend my money :)
  3. L

Experience with AM1 platform?

Well, it´s a physical 16X slot with 4 PCI-e 2.0 lanes, and with PCI-e 2.0 giving a theoretical 500MB/s per lane I don´t think it will be a problem. My main concern is that the CPU itself will be way to slow, but I have never used 10Gbe in PFsense before so I´m not sure.
  4. L

Experience with AM1 platform?

Been using my AM1 setup with PFsense for almost a year, and it has been solid so far. The pros. are low price, low power consumption and support for AES-NI. Downsides are few sata ports, and just 4 PCI-e lanes in the 16X slot. I´m about to upgrade my network to 10Gbe, it will be interesting to...
  5. L

Mellanox 8-port 40gb QDR IB switches

It sure look like a nice switch, thinking of maybe replacing my 36 port with one of those. A question to the original poster, what is your co workers experience with the noise level of this switch ? Is it quiet enough to have in an office environment ? Also for those interested, they are now...
  6. L

Running "crossover" ethernet between ConnectX 3 cards

I have a Xen installation with VGA passthrough to 2 desktops among other virtual machines. When I have tried updating it in the past, I have always messed up the passthrough part. The other system mentioned in my post is an Ubuntu 15.04 on which I intend to run KVM with VFIO passthrough, and to...
  7. L