X10SRL-F very slow initialization with IPMI/BMC enabled..

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

traderjay

Mar 24, 2017
Hi All - This is my first time posting here and I hope you experienced folks can help me out :) I just put together the following system:

Mobo: X10SRL-F (latest bios)
CPU: E5 2696 v3 OME
RAM: 4X8GB Crucial DDR4 ECC (CT8G4RFS4213)
GPU: ASUS GTX 1050ti Strix
PSU: Bequiet 750W PSU (80 Plus Silver Rated)
HDD: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB

I initially thought my parts were DOA upon first power up as I was not getting any video out from the nvidia GPU, that's when I found on the forum that I need to set change the VGA setting in the BIOS and disable it on the motherboard via the jumpers. Before disabling the onboard VGA, I connected an monitor to see if I am getting any output and I saw that the IPMI/BMC status message along with the ASCII SuperMicro Logo, only when that is complete the motherboard then proceeds to the BIOS initialization procedure. However I need to wait almost 30 sec or more before the motherboard beeps and initializes the post procedure.

So I disabled BMC via the motherboard jumpers and the BIOS initialization and boot-up time reduced significantly. Anyone has any idea on what is going on?

I've successfully installed Windows 10 and ran a few rounds of Cinebench R15 without any crashes or hiccups. I've also ran the Intel Processor Diagnostics tool without any issues so I guess at this stage all my hardware is fine?

traderjay

Mar 24, 2017
That is normal for "server" boards. The BMC takes a bit of time to initialize. Most servers don't get powered down much.