Windows Server 2012R2 Hyper V Remote Hardware Connectivity Questions

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Ratfink

Dec 23, 2015
Hi All,
First, I am fairly new to Hyper V, not so new to Windows Server and all the wonderfullesness of quality....

The question I have and still not getting my head around this is:?
  • I have a Server 2012R2 Box, dual cpu quad cores (8 cores), 12t of storage, 36gb of memory, 4 nic cards
  • Hyper V is up and running.
  • 6 vm's sitting on this one box.
  • I do not have enough resources, (CPU/Memory) to run all these VM's on this one box.
Essentially, my thoughts were that this box was to be a NAS (Storage) for ALL my VM's and that I would access all my VM's through remote server blades in my rack through gigabit Ethernet connections. Is this doable? I cant seem to do a correct search in order to pull up setup info on a setup like this? Questions I have?

• If I have separate blade servers without hard drives. I want to connect to my VM/NAS/Server2012 Box and connect to the VM's/Drives through network cable.... CAT5, typical network cable. Can I do this? and a very brief summary of how would be sufficient?
  • Do I need to have Hyper V running on my VM/NAS/Server box OR from each server blade accessing the individual VM's?
I appreciate any guidance... Cant seem to get my head out regarding this issue.... I did this thinking I could put a dozen or more VM's on one box and access them through multiple blade servers without hard drives.... instead use a thumb drive to boot the blades up, then access the VM's in order to use the resources on the blades instead of the main storage box.... I hope this makes sense?

Thanks in advance, I really appreciate the help and guidance..

vl1969

Feb 5, 2014