Windows 10 Enterprise + Hyper-V cannot connect to VM?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

BLinux

cat lover server enthusiast
Jul 7, 2016
artofserver.com
Hi,

I have little experience with Hyper-V, so keep that in mind. A client has provided me with a nice ThinkPad P50 workstation laptop to do work for them. Unfortunately, it runs Windows 10 Enterprise but the entire project I'm working on is Linux based. I wanted to get a Linux environment running as VMs in the Windows 10 Enterprise OS; they no longer offer VMware, and I tried VirtualBox but that had issues. So, I thought I'd try Hyper-V. I turned on the service, and I can create a new Virtual switch and VM in Hyper-V manager, but when I try to connect to the VM console, it waits and waits and then says it can't connect to the VM console. I've rebooted, I've deleted and re-created the VM, but still... I can't connect to the VM console. If I understand correctly, the process is VMconnect.exe or something like that?

So, what is causing this? Is it an access control issue? Where can I look to find out more about why this problem is happening? The error message didn't have any error code I can search for. Searching for the message itself on Google landed me on a few pages where others have experienced similar problems with either no resolution or mysteriously started working.

Any help would be most appreciated by this Hyper-V newb. Thanks.

Last edited:

Tom5051

Jan 18, 2017
Not sure about Hyper-V but with VMware workstation, you have to setup a bridged connection between the hypervisor and the base Windows machine. Could be something similar?

BLinux

Jul 7, 2016
artofserver.com
Not sure about Hyper-V but with VMware workstation, you have to setup a bridged connection between the hypervisor and the base Windows machine. Could be something similar?