virtualization on Quanta WindMill newbie questions

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.
Is anyone else currently running something like ESXi on one of those Quanta WindMill setups?

I'm a bit of a newbie to all this (but you already know that, half of you roll your eyes at my posts as it is >_>) i'm just trying to understand my options. Please correct any misunderstandings I have...

My first question is since I assume ESXi is a bare metal solution, whether it has drivers it needs to properly run in the first place. I would assume yes, seems to be Intel C602 and such, but i'd rather hear from someone with a running system.

From what I understand, if that part works, I could in theory run newer guest OS's than even the native hardware supports. Like if I really need to run Windows 10 - I just plunk that into a guest OS. Or if I need to run MacOSX - that can work as a guest OS. Neither will run natively but should probably run fine under ESXi - I don't fully understand how passthru things work (or whether it's necessary) other than my most ambitious thing would be if something like a 1050 GTX Ti could be accessible to a guest OS to run CUDA type accelerations.

My last question is what are the main alternatives to ESXi to do things similar to this in the meanwhile? It's a bit of a spendy bit of software, one I don't think I can touch for awhile... one I might PLAN to run eventually on hardware i'd choose for future compatibility now, but without paying business gigs wont happen for a bit. Yet i'm not sure if Xen for instance is directly comparable, just as compatible, or whether there are viable options besides Xen as well to consider.