Upgrade E5 2620 v3 to E5 2600 series v4

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Jack Daniels

Jan 27, 2017
ok as far as I can see its just a BIOS flash to a newer BIOS to handle the newer CPU's.

Is there anything else to be aware of?

Thanks

Last edited:

Jack Daniels

Jan 27, 2017
reading around some more, would I be better off to go for E5 26XX v3 and use the all core boost bug to get all cores running at max freq in order to do more crunching rather then looking at an E5 v4 chip? My use is encoding of video footage. Higher freq is better then more cores. So 8 cores at the highest freq would be more beneficial then, say 12 or 14 cores.

I have 1 x E5-2620 v3 installed. I want to install a CPU into the other socket so now is the time to figure out the upgrade or side grade or whatever

I am not an expert at this at all so learning bit by bit.

Rand__

Mar 6, 2014
Relevant might be max TDP capability of your board, but I assume the x10dri should be fine with most CPUs (except workstation maybe)

If you need max freq then dual CPUs is not really going to help. And depends on what your budget is, the high freq. capable v3's are quite expensive since they found that bug,

K D

Dec 24, 2016
For Max frequency, E5-16xx v3 or v4 would be a better choice or of you are OK with lesser pcie lanes and lower memory then E3. But that would need a different board.

Rand__

Mar 6, 2014
why a different board- E5-16xxx will run fine in dual board. just a lot of the features will not be present, but thats similar to his current setup...?

edit:
I remembered its not officially supported;) It runs fine in my experience though:)

Last edited:

K D

Dec 24, 2016
Sorry I was not clear. I mean if he goes for an E3 then he needs a different board.

Jack Daniels

Jan 27, 2017