Updating OmniOS + napp-it?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

ZzBloopzZ

Jan 7, 2013
Hello,

I installed OmniOS (OmniOS_Text_r151006p.iso) and napp-it (v0.9b3 nightly) this past summer. I just use it for fileserving needs with ZFS. All through ESXi v5.1 Update 1.

How do I update OmniOS to the latest version, including patches etc? Also, how do I update napp-it? A step by step guide and in proper order would be great as I am still new to this.

Thanks!

gea

Dec 31, 2010
DE
Hello,

I installed OmniOS (OmniOS_Text_r151006p.iso) and napp-it (v0.9b3 nightly) this past summer. I just use it for fileserving needs with ZFS. All through ESXi v5.1 Update 1.

How do I update OmniOS to the latest version, including patches etc? Also, how do I update napp-it? A step by step guide and in proper order would be great as I am still new to this.

Thanks!
1. Update OmniOS (as root, CLI command, more see GeneralAdministration )
pkg update

if you are requested to update the pkg command itself due to a newer needed release:
pkg install pkg://package/pkg

2. Update napp-it
Use menu napp-it About Update - you can keep/switch between last 5 versions without reboot
On problems, reboot or redo the update via the basic wget command

A system update creates a BE so you can go back on problems.
You can create BEs (boot environments=bootable ZFS snapshots of your system disk) also manually.

Reactions: darkplayer

ZzBloopzZ

Jan 7, 2013
Thank you for the prompt response!

One last question. I was reading this.

It suggests to run the command "pkg update -nv" to see how many updates I need and if reboot is required. However, when I run it in VMware (vSphere v5.1) console I only see the last page of the long report. Is there anyway to scroll up to see the first section in VMware? I would like to see how many updates I need, just for sake of curiosity/learning.

Thank you!

gea

Dec 31, 2010
DE