This Guy Has the Fastest Home Internet in the United States

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Aestr

Oct 22, 2014
Seattle
I'm skeptical on his applications. For starters the advantage of 10gbps over 1gbps for gaming is likely insignificant.

I wasn't surprised to find out he's a radiologist though. I work in the medical imaging software industry and more and more radiologists want to work from home and often overestimate what's required to achieve that. His numbers for image size are pretty far off what I'm familiar with. 3D mammo (DBT) images are usually just shy of a gigabyte not the 10 he mentions. More importantly the rest of the infrastructure of the PACS system likely can't keep up with his home network, especially the client software as there isn't much demand/value in trying to optimize for that speed. Since this is patient data he's viewing over the internet, encryption is also required and I don't see it making financial sense to provide the sort of networking from the hospital/clinic side to serve a single user at these speeds.

All that said I'm still envious :)

ATS

Mar 9, 2015
I thought I read someone here has 10Gb too?
It could very well be the same person. Apparently takeup of residential 10g service has been pretty much non-existent. It is quite expensive at $300 per month plus a minimum investment in equipment over $1k.

ATS

Mar 9, 2015
I'm skeptical on his applications. For starters the advantage of 10gbps over 1gbps for gaming is likely insignificant.