Supermicro X9SCM-F-O - No boot, post, beeps????

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Ricoks

Mar 12, 2012
Hello,
I am hoping someone here can help.
I just took delivery of my new server board (suggested wisely here, thank you) and I am not getting it to boot. This is not my first build, I have been building computers for the last 10 years...... (my first was a celeron 300a..... oh the days............ :cool: ).
I have tried multiple configurations, but I cannot get the board to post. I get no beeps, no video, nothing, except the fans turn on.

I bought the following for my config:
NEW - Supermicro X9SCM-F-O
NEW - E3-1230
NEW - 2x4GB PC3-10600 crucial ram (non-ecc, but unbuffered)
NEW - PC Power & Cooling Silencer 760 (says it's EPS, and it has an 8pin cord)
eBay - M1015
I plan on running ESXI 5 on a USB plugged in the internal USB port.

I have tried this in the case, out of the case (to ensure no short) and I get the same results. I have tried different ram, different PS, and different processors (tried a Pentium G630) all with the same - no post.
Whern the power supply is plugged in, I get the green power standby LED to light, and the IPMI LED is blinking. No other LED is lit. I can log into the IPMI (tho I haven't been able to mount a CD yet, not sure why).
1 ram stick, 2, 4, and it's all the same. If I try with no ram, i get the ram failure beeps. VGA jumper is set to on (came that way).
I am at my wits end.
I DL'd the newest firmware, but I'm unsure if that is for the IPMI, or the BIOS, so I haven't done anything with it.
Oh, and I also tried plugging in a 4pin case fan as well, just to make sure it wasn't looking for it for some reason.

When I am logged into IPMI, Remote Console shows blank only - nothing while it is powered on. IPMI does work to control the power state. I can turn the server off, or on remotely.