Supermicro SC846/X10DriT reduce power consumption

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

trumee

Jan 31, 2016
Hello,

I have a X10DriT motherboard with dual cpus (E5-2650V4) populated. I want to reduce the power consumption. One of the tricks i did was to reduce the core count from 12 to 6 and disable hyper-threading,

Also, set APM to 'Energy Efficient'.

The PSU is PWS-920P-SQ and the system has a mix of SAS/SATA drives.

Power consumption is as follows:
Code:
# ipmitool dcmi power reading

Instantaneous power reading: 220 Watts
Minimum during sampling period: 216 Watts
Maximum during sampling period: 299 Watts
Average power reading over sample period: 238 Watts
IPMI timestamp: Sun Feb 27 05:12:04 2022
Sampling period: 00000565 Seconds.
Power reading state is: activated
Is there any other recommended BIOS setting to reduce power?

Last edited:

spicysnow

Mar 12, 2022
I'm not an expert but why do u want to do this :? If u want lower power consumption, there's xeons like E5-2650lV4(or similar) which would bring down power consumption quite a bit. I think there's no reason to cripple those cpu's on purpose just to save a little bit on electricity bill, as it defeats the purpose of owning such cpu :D.

Satan023

Oct 15, 2023
disable all not used devices, like:
sata controller、usb controller

enable ASPM

ASPM Support
Use this item to set the Active State Power Management (ASPM) level for a PCI-E
device. Select Auto for the system BIOS to automatically set the ASPM level based
on the system configuration. Select Disabled to disable ASPM support. The options
are Disabled and Auto.
Warning: Enabling ASPM support may cause some PCI-E devices to fail!
so make sure there is no device plug in pci slot

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
With a filled 846 I wouldn't expect to save a lot of power for a fileserver through bios settings as most of the power will be consumed by the hdds...