Sorting our RAM choice for X10SDV-4C-7TP4F

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.
Apr 13, 2016
Texas
Hi all, first time posting though I've been lurking for many months now. This forum has been hugely informative, and @Patrick your site is very unique in having useful coverage and a meaningful forum that doesn't venture off into nonsense. Also, bar none, this site has the best Xeon-D coverage and info I've found.

I've been mulling over a build up of a home NAS solution for a while now, but when a fiber to the home solution was made available in my neighborhood, I changed my original motherboard choice from being an Avoton/Rangley board to Xeon-D acting as an All-In-One running ESX with a VM running pfSense or Sophos and a separate one running a ZFS on Linux solution (using an LSI HBA as a VTd passthrough device.) I studied this site, and watched Wiredzone's pages waiting for a second gen Xeon-D board to my liking to come in stock. While waiting, I realized that having an AIO solution wouldn't be the wisest thing in the world, since my significant other wouldn't appreciate any network downtime due to my "learning" exercises... so I procured a Netgate RCC 2440 and put pfSense on it (after trying out Sophos on it) and have a stable network firewall solution.