Server Devs - How much is reasonable?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Biren78

Jan 16, 2013
We got approval to start a mini-pilot project on hiring a few freelance/ regular offshore developers. PHP, python mostly.

What are people paying these days on odesk and elance for this type of stuff?

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015
I've been doing this for 17 years, and use various freelance sites occasionally when my guys can't get something done or we need more hands for ASAP turn around.

It depends drastically where you shop (ie: which country).

$10-$100/hr for php and python devs that are GOOD, know GOOD ENGLISH, and know wtf they're doing. I know some people who hire the CHEAPEST outsourced labor 4-8$hr devs for projects that just need to "WORK" to turn a profit. So, it really depends on your needs too.

If you don't have an experienced developer managing the "cheap" freelancers they are, imho, not really wroth it due to the corrections needed more often than not. It would seem many developers learn the "technical" side but don't study any of the "why" so while they can do Task A, asking them for their input/thoughts/opinions etc is hard to find, and this is even more-so in Asian cultures/countries. I don't mean to stereotype but they're just less likely to state their opinion, even airline studies found this doing crash studies.

With that said there are what I call 2 types of developers. Those who love it, do it, live it and continue to grow. Those who like it, but only learn the technical part, and when their day-job is over they're washing their hands of code to never think of it until the next work day. You hire what you need based on who's managing them, and how good you are at writing project specifications.