RyC's Consolidated Build Thread

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

RyC

Oct 17, 2013
Background: This is a comprehensive build log/history of almost everything computer related I can think of, so it may be a little long. This is the first time I’ve documented the history of my entire system (for myself even), so hopefully it’s relatively on topic. The posts are also split since there’s a maximum of 30 images per post.

I'm a software developer, and all of this is purely as a hobby. I’m a year out of college now, but most of the equipment I have was bought, and bought used, while I was still in college, so I tried to get the best deals I could on essentially only one major hardware purchase a year. In 2012, I caught the virtualization bug and consolidated every computer function except my desktop and laptop on ESXi. 4 years later and now my desktop is virtualized too. Virtualization has been an amazing tool for someone like me. Virtualization allowed me to experiment and learn a huge amount with just a small set of hardware. Even today, I sometimes think about how amazing it is that a single physical computer could be running my desktop, television, NAS, and more, all at the same time!

I have 3 ESXi hosts currently, and they’re listed below in the order they came online.

Build’s Name: Larken
Operating System/ Storage Platform: VMware ESXi 6.0U2
CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1245v3
Motherboard: Supermicro X10SAT
Chassis: Supermicro SC846TQ
TV VM Datastore: 1x 128GB Samsung 850 EVO
TV Scratch + SnapRAID: 1x 160GB WD VelociRaptor, 1x 5TB Toshiba (from the shucking deal here), 3x 4TB WD Red, 2x 3TB WD Red, 2x 3TB WD Green
NAS Scratch + Storage Spaces: 1x 320GB WD Blue, 4x 4TB White Label (WD RE)
RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Crucial Unbuffered ECC 1600Mhz DDR3
Add-in Cards: 2x IBM M1015 (flashed to LSI/Avago/Broadcom 9211), Mellanox ConnectX-2 EN, Intel RES2SV240 SAS expander