RaidZ(n) with 8 drives (and a lot of RAM)

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

voodooFX

Jan 26, 2014
I'm new to ZFS and RaidZ configurations so I need a little help -_-

I have 8 hard drives and I'm wondering what is the best raidz level for balancing performance and safety?
According to (some) best practices, seems that 8 does not fit any of them; I should use (for example) 8+2 if I want a RaidZ2.. is this correct? And if I want to use just my 8 drives?

Another important thing seems to be the RAM amount.
My server has 96GB of ECC Reg (DDR3 1333) RAM, will this somehow give me better performance? And if yes, do I have to set something to have a benefit?

Reactions: T_Minus

Patrick

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 21, 2010
I will let some of the ZFS gurus speak on that. With so much ram you could probably stand for a nice SSD for L2ARC. But ZFS is pretty good on just soaking up memory itself and that is a solid amount.

neo

Mar 18, 2015
My server has 96GB of ECC Reg (DDR3 1333) RAM, will this somehow give me better performance? And if yes, do I have to set something to have a benefit?
Deduplication in ZFS is a nice feature, and it requires a large amount of ram which you do have. You are able to enable it on a per vdev or dataset basis.

Deci

Feb 15, 2015
You can do an 8 disk z2, 2x 4 disk z2 is silly, just go for a heap of mirrors instead as it's smart enough to read like a raid0 on mirrors. But it all comes down to how much performance you want/need. Lots of ram is better than less ram and a fast l2 disk as it's still slower than ram, if the application calls for it a fast slog makes the array less random write intensive as the writes are random into the slog but sequential out of the slog to disk.

Reactions: whitey

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015
@Deci so are you suggesting Raid Z2 or a "heap of mirrors"?