RAID/NVME/PICe/SATA/MICO Assistance with SuperMicro H13SSL-NT build

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

another_tech_guy

Nov 21, 2023
Hi Everyone,

I'm building my first server (workstation) and hoping for some pointers from anyone else with a SuperMicro H13SSL-NT or similar. I've been building desktops for 20 years, but this is my first supermicro board /BIOS and some items are not so obvious / user friendly.

The issues I'm facing at the moment are:
  1. I have qty.1 of PCIE5 NVME I'd like to get working in PCIe slot 5 with a Gen5 PCIe x16 to 4x4 NVMe card.
    (and grow to up to 4 similar drives later).
    - Asus AC Hyper M.2 X16 GEN5 Card (PCIE power connector is hooked up to the PSU)
    - Crucial T700 4TB PCIe 5 NVMe

2. I have qty.3 of PCIE4 NVME I'd like to get working in PCIe slot 3 with a Gen4 PCIe x16 to 4x4 NVMe card.
    (and grow to up to 4 similar drives later)
    - Asus AC Hyper M.2 X16 GEN4 Card
    - 3X Crucial P3 Plus 4TB PCIe 4 NVMe

3. Set up Qty.2 of the Gen4 NVMe drives (item 2 above) for RAID 1 and be a bootable windows drive (Windows 11 Pro for Workstations)

4. Set up Qty.2 SATA drives in RAID 1 (don't need not be bootable)

Questions (/What I've tried so far):

1. Does the MB / BIOS support SATA RAID? If yes where do the options appear?
    (I only have one working SATA drive at this time, the other was DOA so setting up RAID 1 will need to wait.)

2. Does the MB/BIOS support NVMe RAID? If yes where do the options appear?

3. Is x16 PCIe to (1-4) x4 NVMe set-up possible/supported by this MB/BIOS?
    (I have turned on 4x4x4x4 bifurcation for CPU groups G2 and P3 (slot 3 and 5 respectively) but see none of the qty.4 total NVMe drives (across the 2 PCIe slots) in the BIOS menus.)
    1. Are there other BIOS settings to change from defaults to make it work?