RAID controller under 25 watts

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Boddy

Oct 25, 2014
I'm very new to setting up a RAID controller.

My Dell Optiplex 790 desktop motherboard has a power limitation of 25 watts on PCIe 16 (wired as 4) slot (4.376” High by 6.6” Long). ( It also has another PCIe 16 slot which I plan to use for a graphics card, but this is not essential.)

I’d like to add a raid card to increase SATA 3 ports and so I can clone some 2.5” drives.

Would any of the following raid cards could be suitable?

Which would you recommend?

a) Intel RMS25KB040
4 internal ports. 6 Gb/s. SAS/SATA
(LSI2308) PCIe x8 Gen2.

b) Intel RS25SB008
8 internal points. 6 G/bs Embedded 1-GB ECC DDR3 1333memory.
CachePath SAS/SATA (LSI2208) 8 x PCIe Gen 3 interface.

c) Intel RS2MB044
4 external & 4 internal ports. 6 Gb/s. 512 m/b memory at 800MHz
SAS/SATA (LSI2108)

PS. By default, are RAID controllers able to run IT mode out of the box?
Do I need to check the usual BIOS to confirm if it's in RAID mode or IT mode.

If I need to re-flash firmware to IT mode, is method generic to RAID cards or specific to individual RAID cards.

Could you point me to a thread to some advice about re-flashing firmware, hopefully I won't kill the controller.

Many thanks in advance for your advice.

gea

Dec 31, 2010
DE
You cannot flash hardware Raid 5/6 adapters to a raidless IT mode.
This is only possible with some HBA's that offer a simple rait 1/10 mode like those with LSI 2008 or 2308 chipsets.

If you need IT mode on a new controller, buy the LSI 9207 as it comes with IT mode per default.

Reactions: Boddy

Boddy

Oct 25, 2014
You cannot flash hardware Raid 5/6 adapters to a raidless IT mode.
This is only possible with some HBA's that offer a simple rait 1/10 mode like those with LSI 2008 or 2308 chipsets.