Please help!! Aruba 2390F and OPNsense

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

TiredTiger

Apr 16, 2021
Hello,

I am desperately in need of some help setting up a new Aruba 2390F with my OPNsense firewall. I am trying to setup a couple of simple vlans but im pretty confused about the process at this point. Ultimately, Id like the switch to handle the internal routing and let the supermicro box handle the firewall tasks. Right off the bat, i'll readily admit Im a noob at this stuff, so please bear with me.. I've been reading all i can but so many things are spread out all over the place and other times the scenarios only partially apply to my situation.

So a little background, about 3 months ago I purchased a used supermicro 1u short rack off of ebay and I was using that that run OPNsense. I added an additional four port intel NIC for some expandability and everything was working ok. Just recently I added the switch because I wanted inter-vlan routing to play around with servers, security cameras, seperate vlans for insecure game consoles etc. Initially everything was working ok with the default vlan, but when I tried to add the second vlan it all went south.