Patch LC LC Fiber cable for 10GB nic

kevin wilson

Apr 4, 2015
Hi,
I am interested in connecting 10 GB ports of IXGBE nic by an optic cable. This nic have optical transcivers to which I can connect LC male to LC male fiber optic cable. A short, MMC cable is good for me. My question is: i am a newbie to optic cables. From the search I made in eBay, I do not see anywhere mentioning which is the speed that the cable which is sold supports - whether it is 1 GB, 10GB, 40 GB or 100 GB.
See for example,

1M Jumper Cable Duplex Multimode LC-LC LC To LC Fiber Optic Optical Patch Cord | eBay

How can I know - does the cable in the link above support 10GB ? And how can I know if it supports IXGBE nic ?

Regards,
Kevin

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
That's because the speed is not depending on the fibers but on the optics & electronics (=transceivers) used.
I assume ixgbe is an Intel nic and from what I know they can be picky about transceivers.

kevin wilson

Apr 4, 2015
Hi,
I need confirmation that my understanding is correct: as a general rule, given that the optical transceivers are the ones officially supported by the nic vendor, then any LC to LC fiber cable will do. And that same fiber cable can be used in 1GB setup, 10GB setup, 25 GB setup , 40GB, 100 GB and so on. There is no special requirement regarding speed from optic cables, and this is the reason that this is not mentioned in eBay/Amazon ads selling Fiber LC to LC cables. Is this correct?
Regards,
Kevin

Jerry Renwick

Aug 7, 2014
Hi,
I am interested in connecting 10 GB ports of IXGBE nic by an optic cable. This nic have optical transcivers to which I can connect LC male to LC male fiber optic cable. A short, MMC cable is good for me. My question is: i am a newbie to optic cables. From the search I made in eBay, I do not see anywhere mentioning which is the speed that the cable which is sold supports - whether it is 1 GB, 10GB, 40 GB or 100 GB.
See for example,